Colors of Fall- Fab Friday 28 color challenge

Fab Fri Logos-024This weeks challenge over at Fab Friday is a nice color challenge which totally feels like Fall to me. Check out some of the other great ideas with these gorgeous colors on their site.Fab Friday challengeThis is what I came up with. I used an Old Olive card base, and layers of Tangarine Tango, Black, and Rich Razzleberry. I used a Vanilla piece of cardstock to stamp my images on to. I used a CIRCLE MASK to block out the area for the moon and then used sponges to apply around the “moon” the Old Olive, Tangerine Tango, and Rich Razzleberry ink colors. I added a little Tangerine Tango ink with a sponge to the moon, after I removed the mask, to give it a little dimension. I used the pheasant image from the Walk in the Wild stamp set (p.72) and the grass image from the Pocket Silhouettes stamp set (retired). The banner is from the Itty Bitty Banners stamp set (p.30). I stamped the pheasant image onto the Vanilla cardstock and then stamped it a second time onto a scrap piece of Vanilla cardstock. I used sponges again to add some nice color to the pheasant, a gel pen to add a little white to the ring around his neck, and then cut this second pheasant out and added it to the larger piece with stampin’ dimensionals. This makes the pheasant pop off the card.

I really like using sponges to add color to a card. It creates a lovely look that feels kind of like ART!  Also, a MASK is a great way to create a faux image or give a sense of dimension.  I hope you try some of these easy and dramatic techniques on your next creation. Thanks for looking and see you soon!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Colors of Fall- Fab Friday 28 color challenge

  1. Amanda Mertz says:

    Lovely sunset?Sunrise? scene! You did a fantastic job turning these colors into a non-Halloween card! Thanks for sharing at Fab Friday!

  2. Mindy Backes says:

    Just lovely and very fall-ish! Looks like the sunset here last night! Thanks for playing at Fab Friday!

  3. Brenda Myers says:

    Very pretty card!! Love the pheasant!! I’m a fellow Iowan!! 🙂 Thank you for joining us at Fab Friday!!

Leave a Reply

