50th Birthday Card and Fab Friday#29

I made a birthday card for my sister-in-law’s 50th today, and I started with a card sketch from Fab Friday. Check out the other great cards using this sketch on their blog.

FabFri29I like the row of chevrons on this sketch….a really fun idea! It is so easy to create a little extra “WOW” by adding some punched out embellishments. I could have used the Chevron punch from the Holiday catalog (p.23), but since I did not have this punch, I used the Hexagon Punch (p.180) and just used one of the corners of the hexagon to create this shape. I used a strip of cardstock and punched out one hexagon. Then I slide the strip of cardstock over slightly into the punch until I could see just enough cardstock to form a chevron, and punched again. Repeat to create several chevrons from the cardstock strip. FF29I used a Calypso Coral card base with a Vanilla layer on top. Then I used several strips of DSP from the Epic Day This and That Designer Series Paper (p.154). It is hard to see, but I wove the pieces of DSP together to layer them on the card. I added 3 chevrons in Pool Party over the strips, and a strip with the Happy Birthday over top.  The sentiment came from the Bring on the Cake stamp set (p.14). I cut out the 50 with my Typeset Alphabet Bigz die (p.192) and layered them onto another piece of Epic Day DSP cut with the Circle Framelits (p.186). I added this circle and the Happy Birthday strip with stampin’ dimensionals to pop them off the card. Finally, I added 3 little flowers punched out of Calypso Coral cardstock with the Itty Bitty punch pack (p.180) and embellished with the tiny pearls.

Fast and Easy with lots of interesting elements. Love the sketch and the Epic Day This and That DSP (one of my favorites in this current catalog).  Thanks for stopping by for a look. Have a good day and see you back here soon!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 50th Birthday Card and Fab Friday#29

  1. What a fun and creative card! I love it! Those delicate, little flowers are such a beautiful finishing touch. Thanks for joining us at Fab Friday!

  2. Amanda Mertz says:

    Great card! Love all the texture with the DSP and the flower detail and diecut numbers makes for a fun birthday card! Thanks for sharing at Fab Friday!

Leave a Reply

