Flippin’ for Halloween!

I have been playing around with the new Thinlits Card dies from Stampin’ Up!  They are so much fun and come in two different options the Circle Card Thinlit and the Label Card Thinlit. I used the Circle Card Thinlit (#133479, $32.95) for these great Halloween cards.flip booI would love to take credit for this great idea….BUT, I cannot. I saw these cards on Pinterest, and just fell in love with them, so thanks to Paper Ecstasy (click to see the original ideas) for these cute Halloween flip cards.flip boo inside

I used a bunch of Circle and Oval punches and framelits to create the eyes, nose, and mouth. I did make the white ovals for the eyes slightly shorter in length, by punching out the oval and then sliding it back into the punch to cut off a little more on one end. This seemed to make it fit within the black eye a little better.

flip frankFlip Frank also was created using several circle and oval punches and circle framelits. I drew on the mouth and stitches with a fine tipped Sharpie. The hair was probably the most tricky part of this card. I cut a 1″ strip  of cardstock, scored it in the appropriate spots to coordinate with the card folds, and cut with my paper snips to make the “hair”.flip frank insideI added the little Trick or Treat from the Tags 4 You stamp set (p.37 in the Holiday catalog), and used the coordinating Label Bracket punch (p.37 in the Holiday catalog). Isn’t it just FLIPPIN’ cute!

flip dracFinally, I made this spooky dracula. I know a few little boys who will just love to receive this in the mail this week!  I used the same circle punches and circle framelits as in the other cards, and I cut a couple circles across to make the eyelids. I drew the mouth with a Sharpie and added a tooth cut with my paper snips.IMG_5814The hair was again the most difficult part of this card. I cut a 1-1/2″ strip of cardstock, and then used the circle framelits to cut out the curves. I cut the curve on the right side first, then scored the lines for the folds, and cut the curve on the left next. I did close the card and mark where the curve on the left should start to come down to meet the right curve when the card was closed. THEN I cut the left curve and used my paper snips to trim from the left to the right curve. This made the point in the middle of the hair when the card was closed AND open. Kind of tricky and it took me a couple tries to get it right….but very cute when you when works!

I really think these are lots of fun, and another great way to use these new Thinlit card dies. I will be sharing some more Flip cards in the future, so watch for those. Thanks for stopping by and now you can see why I am Flippin’ for Halloween!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flippin’ for Halloween!

  1. stormy says:

    even tho i dont endorse halloween at all, i found these to be very cute and clever. i like the vampire the best, given the design and usage of paper and the colors of papers used.

  2. Jan McMullen says:

    Great cards!

Leave a Reply

