ONE Layer Cards

I held a recent card class and my goal was to keep the cards to one layer….simple, easy, and beautiful. I found lots of ideas on Pinterest, so several of these cards are entirely CASED, while others are tweaked a little here and there.

one layer2This first card uses the Masking Tape Technique (see my previous post on how to do this technique). I was inspired by a card that I saw by Melissa Davies, so it was a slight variation from her card. I used Crushed Curry ink on the masking tape and stamped the Magnificent Maple stamp (p.18 in the Holiday catty) in black Stazon ink. The sentiment was from the Express Yourself hostess stamp set (p.205).

one layer1This card also uses the Masking Tape Technique. In fact, I used the same masking tape on my clear block, as in the previous card, and Crushed Curry ink too. I saw this fabulous idea from Heather Klump. She actually had 2 layers, so I tweaked my version a bit to make it a one layer card (except for the little banner….but who’s counting!). I used the Truly Grateful stamp set (p.19 in the Holiday catty) and stamped the images in Crumb Cake, Soft Suede, and Early Espresso inks. I added a little Baker’s Twine bow next to the banner.

one layer4This card was inspired by a card made by Lisa Young. I really didn’t change much at all, except the ink colors. I used Old Olive, Calypso Coral, Chocolate Chip, and Crumb Cake inks. I sponged the edges and front of the card in Crumb Cake to give it a little “aged” look. I used the En Francais Background stamp (p.100), Field Flowers stamp set (p.67), and Loving Thoughts stamp set (p.106).

one layer3This card was CASED from Deena Boos, and again I really did not change very much from her original card. I did go from a two layer card to a one layer card, but other than that it is really a copy of her beauty. I used the Everything Eleanor stamp set (p.66) and the Backyard Basics stamp set (p.79) and coordinating Backyard Basics Framelits (p.187). I only used Black Stazon ink and then colored the butterfly with Blushing Bride and Smoky Slate markers. I added a few rhinestones and a stampin’ dimensional under the butterfly.

I love finding inspiration on Pinterest…it makes getting creative so easy!! I also loved challenging myself to come up with some great cards to make with just one layer. It is certainly not something that I do very often, but as you can see, it is really kind of nice to simplify and create some easy and elegant cards for a change. Thanks for stopping by and see you back here tomorrow for some more one layer cards.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

