More ONE Layer Cards

one layer8

This card using a Masking Technique to give you the illusion of having two layers. I just partially covered the card base with a piece of scratch paper and then used a sponge to apply the ink to the left side of the card. I added Pool Party to the center and Pear Pizzazz ink around the edges. I used the Simply Sketched hostess stamp set (p.205) and stamped the branch in Pear Pizzazz ink. I stamped some of the branches and then stamped a second time without reinking to get a two toned image. I stamped one last branch AFTER I removed the mask and had it extend across the masked off line. The sentiment is also from the Simply Sketched hostess stamp set.

one layer7This card also uses the Masking Technique, but this time I put the strip of scratch paper through the center of the card base and sponged the ink on either side to create a faux layer. I used Marina Mist ink to sponge onto the card AND to stamp the background swirl image from the Creative Elements stamp set (p.105). I used the flower image from the same stamp set and stamped that in Night of Navy ink. Then I removed the mask and added the sentiment from the Four You stamp set (p.22) in Night of Navy ink. The final touch is a scored line on either side of the “faux” strip. I created this with my Simply Scored Scoring Tool (p.178).  I saw this idea from a card by Sherry Bee ….so again this is not my original idea, but very pretty!

one layer6This card is also using the Masking Technique, however this time I cut a rectangle out of the center of my piece of scratch paper. I used removable adhesive to temporarily attach the mask over the card base. Then I used Soft Suede, Sahara Sand, and Soft Sky ink and a sponge to apply the ink to the inside of the rectangle in stripes from dark to light. I used the background image from The Open Sea stamp set (p.101) and stamped it in Sahara Sand. Next I stamped the image from the Serene Silhouettes stamp set (p.64) in Soft Suede ink. Then I removed the mask and stamped the “Thank You” from the Lots of Thanks stamp set (p.29) under the image.

one layer5This last card was inspired by a card made byAnne Hayward. I changed my version slightly by using Strawberry Slush ink inside the Oval Mask.  I again used the Serene Silhouettes stamp set (p.64) and the So Sorry stamp set (p.68). I stamped the image and the sentiment in Black Stazon on ink. After all the stamping was complete I used my Woodgrain Embossing Folder (p.190) to create the framed embossing around the oval. This is very easy to create, and I will have to do my next edition of Technique Tuesday on this great embossing technique. So, see you on Tuesday for that!

Thanks for stopping by again today. I hope you have been inspired to try some simple one  layer cards too. There are endless ideas for making these types of cards….so get inky and make some!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

