Technique “Tuesday” -Partial Textured Embossing

OOPS!!  Sorry, I didn’t get this posted yesterday….I had good intentions, but was working on some projects and the day was gone before I knew it! I hate it when I have, what seems like, a small list of things to accomplish in a day, and then I may not even accomplish ONE thing!  Oh well, such is life, so here we go….better late than never…AGAIN!

Today’s technique is a great textured embossing technique that I used on one of the cards from my last card class. It is a fun way to use your textured embossing folders to give them some added versatility.

Partial Textured Embossing: Use a pre-made thin wood frame OR Create your own frame from chipboard. I created my own frame, by using the oval framelits and some chipboard or cardboard from my packs of DSP. I cut 4 pieces of  the DSP cardboard         4-1/4″ x 5-1/2″. I cut the oval out of the middle of each piece trying to make sure they were all centered the same. Then I attached those 4 pieces together to make one thick frame. NEXT- Place the cardstock within the embossing folder, lay the thick cardstock frame over the embossing folder, and run through the Big Shot using tab 2 and a SINGLE clear plate on top of the cardboard frame. The cardstock will only be embossed where the chipboard was placed on the folder.oval frames

big shotThis makes a beautiful embossed frame around your stamped images, and give some nice added texture to your card without adding an additional layer.one layer5

I also did the same technique using a rectangular frame. I found the pre-made oval and rectangle thin wood frames at a local craft store, and these work great for this technique…BUT if you want a different size or shape, just remember you can make your own too.rectangle framesI made this chipboard frame out of one THICK piece of cardboard, and cut out the rectangle with an exacto knife. So….you can experiment a little to find the right thickness, but I have had good luck with around 1/16″ thickness.

rect. partial embossingThis is a card that I made a while ago using this technique. I used the Nature Walk stamp set (retired). I used a sponge with a little Crumb Cake ink around the edges of the embossed cardstock to accentuate the embossing a bit too. I used the Finial Press embossing folder (retired) to create the frame effect around the stamped images.rect. partial embossing2This card also uses the retired Finial Press embossing folder. I did layer a Crumb Cake cardstock layer on the Crumb Cake card base to give it a little extra dimension. I used the Clearly for You stamp set (retired) for the stamped images. I added some punched flowers from the Itty Bitty punch pack (p.180), pearls, and scalloped and oval punches (p.182) too.

So, that is a little bit about Partial Texture Embossing. There are lots of other options and ideas for using this technique. I will share a few more in the coming days. Thanks for checking in today. Hope YOU accomplish all that is on your list for today!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

