EIGHT DAYS!!! and counting

Well, I must start off this blog post with a BIG apology….I had such good intentions of posting lots of great Christmas ideas, but as always the time has gotten away from me and here we are just a few short days away from the big day….so sorry!!

My last Technique Tuesday featured a great Embossing Folder technique called Partial Textured Embossing, and I wanted to share another card using this fun technique. Partial embossingThis card uses the oval frame to create the striped embossing around the outside of the oval shape in the center of the card.  After embossing with the Stripes Embossing Folder, I outlined the oval shape with a stylus to emphasis the oval in the center of the card. This was pretty easy to accomplish by laying my cardstock over the oval frame and using a lightbox to see where to run my stylus aroung the outline of the oval (if you don’t have a lightbox you can use the light coming through the window, in the same way). Be careful not to push too hard with the stylus or you may run the risk of poking a hole in your cardstock.

*Another tip to remember when doing this is to rub a piece of wax paper over the area you are rubbing the stylus…this will help for smooth movement of the stylus, and a clean line without jerky or jagged embossing.

I used a Pool Party card base and oval insert layer. I have a layer of white cardstock which is partially embossed with the Stripes Embossing Folder (p.191). And the oval piece was cut using the Oval Framelits (p.186) and stamped with an image from the Lovely as a Tree stamp set (p.78) in versamark ink. I embossed the image with White embossing powder. I rubbed a bit of Pool Party ink around the edges of the Pool Party oval with a sponge to give it a little extra depth. Finally, I attached the oval piece with stampin’ dimensionals to the center oval in the white cardstock layer.

This is what I would call a Clean & Simple type card. Not a lot of embellishments, but just simple beauty and easy to produce. This would make a very nice Christmas card OR Christmas thank you card, I think.  Thanks for stopping by today…..hopefully, I will find a little more time to post again very soon!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

