Technique Tuesday?! Double Textured Embossing Technique

I know, I know…..it’s not Tuesday, but since I am so far behind in my blog posts we’ll just pretend it is!  I want to share with you a variation of the Partial Embossing Technique today. This is just a step up from that, and it creates a double texture embossed piece which I think you will really love.

Double Textured Embossing: Use embossing folders and chipboard to create a double textured embossed image. There are two ways to use this technique:                                    1. For an overall embossed design as the background with a frame in the middle.            OR                                                                                                                                                        2. For an embossed frame with the textured pattern in the MIDDLE of the frame.

For the first option, follow these steps:                                                                                             -Emboss the background first, using tab 1 on your Big Shot, and your cardstock sandwiched in your embossing folder, as usual.                                                                            -Next sandwich your embossed piece of cardstock into the Frame embossing folder, positioning as desired.                                                                                                                       -Lay a 1/4″ thick piece of cut chipboard on top of the embossing folder, centering over the frame. *Put a piece of removable adhesive or tape on the chipboard to hold it in place.       Platform Order: Tab 2, card stock sandwiched in embossing folder, chipboard shape on the embossing folder, ONE cutting plate. *you may need to use a shim of scratch paper to get the proper impression.Jen's double embossing-2This card is from my good friend (and upline) Jen. She created this beautiful card using the Beautifully Baroque and Oval Designer Frame embossing folders (p.190/191). She added a piece of Eastern Elegance DSP (p.154) to the inside of the oval frame and some punched butterflies with rhinestones in Crushed Curry and Coastal Cabana cardstock. She used the Hello sentiment from the Four You stamp set (p.22).double embossing step1

double embossing step2I used 4 pieces of cardboard from a pack of DSP to make my oval chipboard piece. I cut the ovals using my retired Ovals die, which has the perfect size for the oval frame.
double embossing step3These are steps used to create the double textured embossed layer for the card. Hopefully, the visual makes the instructions a little more clear.

double embossing2This is my version of this basic idea. I used the Northern Flurry and Oval Designer Frames embossing folders (p.190/191). I used a Smoky Slate card base, a Basic Gray layer, and the Whisper White embossed layer. I used the Festive Flurry stamp set and coordinating Festive Flurry Framelits (p.30 in the Holiday catalog). I stamed the snowflake in versamark ink and embossed with Pewter embossing powder. I added a piece of Winter Frost DSP (p.29 in the Holiday catty) and punched it out with the Extra-Large Oval Punch (p.182). The final element is the sentiment from the Teeny Tiny Wishes stamp set (p.44) and punched out with the Modern Label punch (p.181).double embossing3This is one of my favorites using this technique. I used a Crumb Cake card base, a Real Red layer, and a Whisper White embossed layer. I used the Argyle Embossing Folder and the Rectangle Designer Frame (p.190/191) to do my Double Textured Embossing Technique. I cut a Crumb Cake rectangle piece to add to the center of the frame and stamp the snowman using the Snow Day stamp set (p.25 in the Holiday catty). I added a Stitched Grosgrain Ribbon in Real Red (p.173), and the sentiment is from the Remembering Christmas stamp set (p.28 in the Holiday catty). double embossing3- insideThe inside sentiment is also from the Remembering Christmas stamp set (p.28 in the HC) and I added a few snowflakes from the Snow Day stamp set (p.25 HC).IMG_5980Just as before, I added a piece of chipboard over the frame area of the embossing folder to create the Double Textured Embossing. I just ran a piece of cardboard from my DSP pack through the Big Shot to emboss the frame, and then just cut it out with scissors to the edge of the scalloped boarder around the frame. I did this a couple more times and then glued them together to get a chipboard piece that was about 1/4″ thick to get a nice impression.IMG_5981You can see here (from the inside of the frame folder) how I taped it over the frame on the embossing folder, so this would be the only area to be pressed down for the impression. I hope that you are beginning to see how this process works.

So, now that you are getting the idea, I will show you how to do the second option for this technique (For an embossed frame witht he textured pattern in the MIDDLE of the frame).                                                                                                                                                      Follow these steps:                                                                                                                             -Emboss the Oval or Rectangle Frame first, using Tab 1 on the Big Shot platform.                      -Sandwich the frame embossed cardstock into the patterned embossing folder, positioning as desired.                                                                                                                         -Lay an oval or rectangle cut chipboard piece on top of the embossing folder, centering over the inner part of the frame.                                                                                                           *you may need to use a piece of tape or removable adhesive to hold the chipboard in place                                                                                                                                                            Platform Order: Tab 2, card stock sandwiched in the embossing folder, chipboard shape on the embossing folder, ONE cutting plate                                                                       *you may need to use a shim of scratch paper to get the proper impression

jen's double embossingNow you can see what I am talking about…..the textured pattern of the Beautifully Baroque embossing folder is ONLY within the center of the Oval Designer Frame. Isn’t that cool?!  This is another card from my friend, Jen. She was the inspiration for me to try this great technique….and I really love it!  She used a Black and White color scheme and the image from the hostess stamp set, Morning Meadow (p.203).

double embossing1This is my try at it….I used the Pretty Print Embossing Folder (p.24 in the Holiday catty) inside the Oval Designer Frame. I used Venetian Romance DSP (p.53) and that inspired the Island Indigo, Vanilla, and Pistachio Pudding color scheme. I used the Top Note die (p.193), the Floral Fusion Sizzlits, and the Little Leaves Sizzlits (p.188). I added a small center to the flower using the Itty Bitty punch pack (p.180) and a pearl. The background stamping is from the Flowering Flourishes stamp set (p.118) and the sentiment is from the Teeny Tiny Wishes stamp set (p.44).IMG_5985So, you can see how I added my chipboard piece just over the INSIDE of the oval frame.   (the Extra-Large Oval punch makes the perfect size piece for this….I punched out about 4 pieces of cardboard and glued them together to create a chipboard piece that was thick enough to get the perfect impression)

So….give this great technique a try and see what Double Textured Embossing cards you can come up with.  The options are endless with all the great embossing folders available. I hope you are a little inspired to step out of your comfort zone and try something new…You will not regret it!   Have a great day and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

