Last Minute Christmas Ideas!

Well, with Christmas just a few short days away, it is time to get those last minute gifts taken care of and finish up the wrapping!  I have a couple little ideas to share that may help with some of that.  I found some wonderful video tutorials recently for some easy and impressive gift card and money holders using the Envelope Punch Board from Stampin’ Up. (click to learn how to use this fabulous tool).  I have had lots of fun using my new Envelope Punch Board, not only to make great envelopes to match my cards in 66 different sizes, but to make all sorts of wonderful boxes and cards too. I will be showing more of these projects in the future.

But for today’s post, check out these great gift card and money holder ideas…..IMG_6007This first idea comes from Kay Kalthoff.  I CASED her original idea, but modified mine to give it a Christmas theme. I found it HERE, and she has a great video to show the complete instructions.  You will be able to get all her great directions by visiting that site, but if you just want the quick version and the measurements….here you go:

Gift Card Holder:                                                                                                                                -Use SU notecards and envelope pack (p.162) to create a quick and easy gift card holder.     -Trim off about 1/8” of the length of the notecard to fit in the envelope when finished.      -Trim off 1-1/4” of the card front to create the pocket.                                                               -Punch left edge and 3” mark and trim off the excess to the right edge of the card front.     -Decorate and add a gift card size envelope inside (made with the Envelope Punch Board- so easy!!)

IMG_6008I used the Season of Style Designer Series Paper Stack (p.22 in the Holiday catty) for my version. What a quick and easy way to dress up that “boring” gift card!

IMG_6004This next idea is a super cool money holder!  I found this idea on Amy Koenders blog: Stamp with Amy K. (click to see her directions).  I changed my version slightly to create this nice Christmas Money Holder (or whatever else you may want to put in it….I used mine to give some tickets for a concert to my son….shh, don’t tell!)

Here are the dimensions for easy reference:                                                                       Money Holder Card-                                                                                                                 -8-1/4” x 7” cardstock and score at 3” and 6”, fold on score lines                                               -On the short section, punch at the 3-1/2 “ mark                                                                         -Trim off excess from 3-1/2” notch to right edge

IMG_6006I used Old Olive and Cherry Cobbler cardstock for the card and envelope. I added some Season of Style Designer Washi Tape (p.25 in the Holiday catalog) for some quick and easy decoration. I added a Labels Collection Framelit (p.186) cut piece and embossed it using the new Stylish Stripes Embossing Folder (p.22 in the Holiday catty).  I added a strip of Silver Glimmer paper (p.156) and used the Tags for You stamp set (p.37 in the Holiday catty) and the coordinating Label Bracket Punch (p.37 in the HC) for the final layer.

I used the Envelope Punch Board to easily make the right size envelope for this money holder. I used a 8-1/4″ x 8-1/4″ piece of Cherry Cobbler cardstock to make the 3″ x 7″ size envelope.  I added a little “Do Not Open ‘Til Christmas” seal from the More Merry Messages stamp set (a carry over item from last year), and WAH LAH!

So, I hope you try some of these great ideas to dress up your next gift card OR money gift. They really add a nice little extra touch to those “boring” gifts to let the ones you love know you really do care enough to give the very best.  Thanks for stopping by and Happy Stampin”!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

