Envelope Punch Board -File Folder Cards!

Yesterday, I said I would give a little more explanation of these fun File Folder Cards….so here you go!  I shared these cards at my last round of stamp clubs in November, and I think they are really fun and easy to create with the new Envelope Punch Board. I always love it when you have several uses for one tool and this little punch board is full of potential!!  This first card really does look like a file folder and would make a great masculine card (those masculine cards are always a little more challenging to come up with a good idea, I think).  I was inspired by THIS CARD on Pinterest for the basic idea.
Birthday File CardI used a Crumb Cake Card base and created the file folder by using the Envelope Punch Board (see step by step directions below).  I used my scoring tool and scored 3 lines along the left side of the card front to create the “file” feel. I added 3 layers in Black and Real Red cardstock. I cut the layers with the Chalk Talk Framelits (p.187) and the Artisan Label punch (p.181). I used the Label Love stamp set and white embossing powder for the top layer (and I rubbed on a little white ink to give it a faux chalk board effect.  I added the “DATE:” on the tab with the Remember This and That Rotary Stamp (p.155), and added a red paper clip and ribbon.IMG_6015I used the Remembering Your Birthday stamp set (p.16) for the inside sentiment.

File Folder Instructions:                                                                                                                Step 1:  Line up the left edge of the inside of the card with the left edge of the opening on the Envelope Punch Board and punch. IMG_6043Step 2:  Move the left edge of the inside of the card to the 2-1/2″ mark on the Envelope Punch Board and punch again.IMG_6045 Step 3: Use your paper trimmer and cut from the notch to the right edge of the cardstock (this will create the TAB for the file folder). IMG_6047Step 4:  Trim off 1/2″ from the card front and round all the corners using the Envelope Punch Board.IMG_6046

Pretty simple….and you can vary it to make the TAB larger or smaller, make a TAB on the front AND back of the card, OR make it into a pocket type card.

Fall File cardThis is a card that I CASED from THIS CARD on Pinterest.  I did not change very much from the original idea, but I did add some speckles from the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (p.109) in Early Espresso ink. I used the Gently Falling stamp set (p.65), the Sweater Weather DSP (p.18 in the Holiday catty), and the Burlap Ribbon (p.18 in the HC).  This card has a TAB on the card front AND the inside of the card, and I created these just as in the card above (just remember to remove about 1/2″ from the card front and then  flip the card over to punch the TAB on the card front).

IMG_6016This is a Pocket Card using the same File Folder instructions. I removed 1-1/2″ from the card front to create the pocket, and then used the Envelope Punch Board to create the TAB, as before. I added a piece of washi tape to keep the pocket closed.  This card is also CASED from a card that I saw on Pinterest –HERE.  I changed very little, and used the Flower Shop stamp set (p.94) and matching Pansy Punch (p.183), the Another Thank You photopolymer stamp set, Epic Day This and That and Modern Medley DSP (p.154), Epic Day This and That Washi Tape (p.155), and a Black Glimmer Brad (p.170).

Well, that is all for today….I hope you give these fun File Folder Cards a try. They are a nice little twist on your ordinary card, and gives that Envelope Punch Board a little more versatility too!  Happy Stampin’ !!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

