Open Sea Sympathy

Chris' sympathy cardToday I have a card that I recently made for my sister-in-law who lost her husband….so sad. He loved sailing and The Open Sea stamp set (p.101) just seemed to be the perfect fit for this card. I got a little inspiration from a card that I saw by Michelle Zindorf. I loved how she paired the ship with the swirls in the background from the Clockworks stamp set (p.109). I used a Black card base, a layer of Soft Sky, and a layer from the pack of Newsprint DSP (retired). I used a tag layer cut using the Apothecary Accents Framelits (p.187) and added a couple black eyelets and some narrow Black Taffeta Ribbon (p.173). I embossed the ship with black embossing powder on a 2-1/2″ Circle of Whisper White cardstock. I used a white crayon on the sails to for the Crayon Resist technique, before I sponged on several layers of ink in Soft Sky, Pool Party, Marina Mist, and Midnight Muse to create the sky and water. I stamped the swirl image 3 times in Soft Sky, Pool Party, and Marina Mist to create the background around the ship. Finally, I took my black ink pad and rubbed softly and directly around the edges of the circle to give it a hint of black. I added a little Soft Sky ink with a sponge to the DSP, the compass from The Open Sea stamp set, and last of all, the sentiment from the Simply Sketched hostess stamp set (p.205).inside Chris' cardThe inside of the card has the beautiful quote from the Love & Sympathy stamp set (p.68) embossed with black embossing powder.

Well, I was happy with how it turned out and I know it touched her heart to see the ship and make the correlation with his love of sailing.  Thanks for stopping by.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Open Sea Sympathy

  1. genamarie {stormy} howard says:

    how did you do crayon resist to go in the small spaces aand leave the black details. i don’t get it. please explain      

     stormy howard independentSTAMPIN UP! consultant occasions catalog is out jan 3rd! time to make 2014 seasons cards! 

    http://www.youravon.com/stormy247 long distance orders delivered right to your door!

    “judge each day not by the harvest you reap, but by the seeds you plant” robert louis stevenson   Scrapbook Resourcez~  prettypapers101@yahoo.com 

     “all things are possible to him that believeth.”                                                                        

    • StampinU says:

      I embossed the ship with black embossing powder first, then I used a sharp white crayon and added that just to the sails. The black embossing helps to contain the white crayon a little easier. Finally, I added all the sponging of color and then removed any excess of ink from the sails with a tissue. Hope that helps explain it a little better…..it’s really pretty easy.

Leave a Reply

