Retrosketch #96- Blue Ribbon Birthday

BRRR!!  What a cold January day….great day to stay in and play in the stamp room, I think!   I am trying a sketch today from the group at Retrosketches (click to see some of the other samples and submissions).
rs96

I needed to stock up on some birthday cards for this month, so I decided to go with this sketch and get a start on completing some of those.

IMG_6091I used a Smoky Slate card base, a Whisper White layer, and a piece of DSP from the Winter Frost Designer Series Paper (p.29 from the Holiday catalog).  I added an image from the Blue Ribbon stamp set (p.17) embossed with Silver embossing powder (p.167).   I stamped the ribbon center with the Happy Birthday from the same set in Island Indigo and punched it out with the 1-1/4″ Circle punch (p.182). The center was layered on a Brushed Silver Metallic cardstock (p.156) circle punched with the 1-3/8″ Circle punch (p.182), and I added to the ribbon with stampin’ dimensionals.  I added a piece of Island Indigo Satin Ribbon (on the clearance rack) and three Silver Metallic Circles punched with the circle punch from the Itty Bitty Punch Pack (p.180). I placed three Island Indigo Candy Dots (p.171) on to the centers of the silver circles for that last bit of color.

IMG_6088IMG_6089 It is hard to see on these images, but there is some really nice shine to this card. The shine from the silver embossing on the ribbon AND from the designer series paper gives this card a little WOW factor. The DSP has a shiny silver strip in it, which I really love. I didn’t use any of the shiny papers in this pack yet….I was saving them for something special!

So, one birthday card down….just a few more to go. I will be back with those in the coming days, so hope to see you back here very soon.  Keep warm and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Retrosketch #96- Blue Ribbon Birthday

  1. Great take on the sketch. Wonderful colors too.

  2. Sian says:

    This card is stunning! I don’t know how you’ve done it, but you’ve created a perfect unisex card which is no mean feat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

