Oh Happy Day!

Hi there!  I am sharing a birthday card today that I made for my son’s 21st birthday.  I’m always amazed at the passage of time, when my boys have a birthday. It just doesn’t seem possible that he could be 21 already!Bens bdayThis card features many new items out of the new Stampin’ Up! Occasions catalog.  I saw a similar card on Pinterest by Connie Babbert which was my inspiration, and just altered it slightly.

I used a Midnight Muse card base and layered a piece of Whisper White cardstock and a piece of Silver Fancy Foil Designer Vellum (p.23 in the Occasions Catty).

 I stamped the Oh, Happy Day from the Starburst Sayings stamp set (p.34 in the Occasions Catty) in Midnight Muse ink on Whisper White cardstock, and cut it out using the Circle Framelits (p.186). I layered this on a piece of Silver Foil Sheet (p.23 in the OC) cut using the Starburst Framelits (p.34 in the OC). This can be bundled with the coordinating stamp set for a 15% savings too!  I added this to the card with stampin’ dimensionals.            

Next, I added a piece of Silver Glimmer paper (p.156) cut with the Starburst Framelits and then added the 21 in Midnight Muse cardstock cut using my Timeless Type Alphabet Junior Sizzlits (retired). Bens bday2I stamped two more pieces from the Starburst Sayings stamp set in Midnight Muse and Smoky Slate and cut them out with the coordinating framelits. I added one of those with 2 stampin’ dimensionals stacked up to raise it even farther off the card.

The final element is one more Starburst piece of Midnight Muse with a silver star brad (retired) in the center.Bens bday3So, there it is….a flashy masculine card for my “boy”. I can’t believe he is really an adult, but I guess I better get used to the idea, huh?!

There are so many new things to choose from in Stampin’ Up!’s new Occasions Catalog. I have been excited to get some of these products in use, and I hope you get a little inspired by some of my creations. It is always a Happy Day when you can spend a little time stampin’!                                                                                          

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Happy Day!

  1. Love the addition of the personalized birthday! Great idea! Thanks for the shout out, too!

  2. StampinU says:

    THANK YOU, Connie! I loved your idea…you are always full of inspiration for me! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

