Technique Tuesday – Telescoping Technique

Today’s edition of Technique Tuesday will feature a quick and easy technique that I discovered from Deb Valder at Stampladee.com. She has a wonderful explanation and video to show how she did it…..thanks, Deb! I used her card ideas for inspiration to try this fun technique, but I also came up with a few ideas of my own too.Starburst Sayings telescopingThis first card uses the Starburst Sayings stamp set (p.34 in the Spring Occasions Catalog), the coordinating Starburst Framelits (p.34 in the OC), and the Circles Collection Framelits (p.186). I used a Raspberry Ripple card base, a layer of Birthday Basics DSP (p.153), some Silver Foil (p.23 in the OC), and some circle layers in Bermuda Bay and Summer Starfruit.

I stamped the main telescoping image twice: once in Raspberry Ripple ink and once in Primrose Petals ink. I then used the 2-1/2″ circle punch to punch out the Raspberry Ripple image and one of the smaller circles in the Circle Framelits to cut out the circle from the center of that same Raspberry Ripple image.

Next, I cut out the Primrose Petals image with a Circle Framelit that was 2 sizes bigger than the small circle used to cut out the center from the other image. Finally, these 3 circles were layered on the Silver Foil Starburst piece with stampin’ dimensionals to create the telescoping effect. Make sure to line up the images, as closely as you can, between the layers to create that perfectly lined up telescoping image.starburst saying 2It really has a neat effect with lots of dimension.starburst sayings insideI used another piece of Birthday Basics DSP on the inside of the card, a small Silver Foil circle layer, and a image from the Blue Ribbon stamp set (p.17).

Flowerful Heart telescoping2This card was also inspired by a card made by Deb. I used the Flowerfull Heart stamp (available online from SU) and the Hearts Collection Framelits (p.187). I used a Cherry Cobbler card base with a piece of Gold Fancy Foil Designer Vellum (p.23 in the OC) layered over top. I added a piece of Cherry Cobbler Seam binding (p.173) across the card front and a small banner stamped with the sentiment from the Teeny Tiny Wishes stamp set (p.44).

I stamped and embossed the heart image with gold embossing powder twice, and then cut the heart shapes using the Heart Framelits. I layered these onto a piece of Champagne Glimmer paper (p.156), also cut with the Heart Framelits.Flowerful Heart telescoping

Doily TelescopingThis card uses the Hello, Doily stamp (p.122) as the telescoping feature. I stamped it on the Vanilla layer, and then twice more on some Vanilla cardstock and cut with the Circle Collection Framelits to create the layers. I did add a little Crumb Cake ink around the edges of the circle layers with a sponge to add a little shading too. I used the Creative Elements stamp set (p.105) for the butterfly and the banner at the bottom of the card. I punched out the butterfly image with the Elegant Butterfly punch (p.183) and added some Crumb Cake ink with a sponge around the edges of the Blushing Bride stamped butterfly. This was added to the card with a stampin’ dimensional. Finally, the sentiment is from the Express Yourself Hostess stamp set (p.205) and all the layers are on a Blushing Bride card base.Doily tele-2

Map telescopingThis card was inspired by a card that I saw by Debbie Henderson. I loved how she used ink to create the fabulous background. She rubbed the ink pads directly on the White cardstock, but I just used sponges with ink to create a very similar effect. I felt I could control the color a little better that way.

I used a Midnight Muse card base and a Whisper White layer which was stamped with the World Map background stamp (p.23), and sponged with several ink colors (Midnight Muse, Marina Mist, Daffodil Delight, and Old Olive). I used the smaller world map from The Open Sea stamp set (p.101) and used the Circle Framelits to create the Telescoping feature on this card. I sponged the colors on these pieces, as well, to replicate the background layer.  Finally, the sentiment is from the Chalk Talk stamp set (p.12), punched out with the Extra-Large Oval punch (p.182), and added to the card with stampin’ dimensionals.map tele-2

Dahlia telescopingThis card was inspired by a card I saw on Pinterest (click to see that card). It is very similar to the original card. I used an Elegant Eggplant card base, a White layer, and a layer of Elegant Eggplant DSP. I stamped the Dahlia image from the Regarding Dahlias stamp set (p.91) in Elegant Eggplant ink on some Whisper White cardstock 2 times. I punched the bottom layer out with the 2-1/2″ circle punch(p.182), and I punched out the center of that image with a 1-3/4″ Scallop Circle punch (p.182).  One the second image, I punched out the larger scalloped layer with the 2-3/8″ Circle punch (p.182), and the center with the 1-1/4″ circle punch (p.182). I layered all of these using stampin’ dimensionals and made sure to line up the image to create the telescoping image again.Dahlia tele-2Dahlia tele-3So, hopefully you can see that this is a VERY EASY technique, and creates lots of dimensional effect. It can be used with so many stamp sets, punches, and framelits, and that makes the ideas endless! LOVE THAT….

Thanks for stopping by to check out today’s edition of Technique Tuesday, and see you again soon.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Technique Tuesday – Telescoping Technique

  1. Joni says:

    Love the hearts…very elegant.

Leave a Reply

