Valentine Card Class

I thought I would give some details on the Valentine cards that I had at my recent card class, since I had promised to do that last week…..and here it is, a week later already. Time just seems to slip by so quickly.

Anyway, here are some of the details:Feb class1These two cards are made together, sort of….I glued four 2″x 2″ pieces of DSP (designer series papers) to a 4″ x 4″ scrap of cardstock, and then used a Heart Framelit (p.187) to cut out the center of that DSP patchwork piece.  I then used the Argyle Embossing Folder (p.191) to emboss the cut-out heart and added it to the card (on the left) with stampin’ dimensionals. I tied a bow in a small button and added that to the heart with a mini glue dot. I used an old retired stamp set, called Hand-Penned Holidays, for the “With Love” sentiment. I really love the style of this word set, and wish that Stampin’ Up would do another set that uses that same type of script….maybe someday. The rest of that card is just a Vanilla card base, a Cherry Cobbler layer, and a Vanilla layer.  Super Easy!

The other card (on the right) uses the left-over DSP patchwork piece as the top layer of that card. I layered it on a piece of Cherry Cobbler, that has a scallop border cut and embossed using the Large Scallop Edgelit and the Delicate Designs Embossing folder (p.188 & 190). I tied a piece of Vanilla Taffeta Ribbon (retired) around the layers and added it to a Vanilla card base. Finally, I used a heart stamped in Cherry Cobbler and punched out with the Full Heart punch (p.183). This stamp is also retired. It was a single stamp offering last year, so unfortunately it is no longer available. I added the heart image with stampin’ dimensionals to pop it off the card.

I loved the idea of using the left-overs from one card to make a second card….I really should try to do that more often!

Feb class2These two cards are similar in design, but just slightly different too.  The card on the left uses a Vanilla card base which was embossed with the Adorning Accents heart embossing folder (p.190). I added a piece of Blushing Bride ruffled ribbon (retired), and a little banner in Vanilla cardstock and stamped with the sentiment from the Teeny Tiny Wishes stamp set (p.44). Next, I stamped two hearts from the Hearts a Flutter stamp set (p.124) in Soft Suede ink and Blushing Bride ink, and cut them out with the coordinating Hearts a  Flutter Framelits (p.187). I added them to the card base with stampin’ dimensionals. The last element, of this card, is a little Glimmer heart which is created by coloring a piece of Silver Glimmer paper with Blushing Bride ink and an aquapainter. I punched out the small heart shape with the Small Heart punch (p.183), and added that with a stampin’ dimensional too.  I was inspired by Becky Jensen’s card for this card idea. It is very similar, but I just altered it slightly by adding the word banner and changing the buttons out for the glimmer heart.

The second card was inspired by a card that I saw on Pinterest that was all in gold and white, and I loved how this created such a classy card. I used that idea to create this golden beauty. I used a Whisper White card base and embossed it with the Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder (p.191).  I added a layer of Gold Metallic cardstock (p.156) and a layer of Whisper White cardstock. I added some strips of Watercolor Wonder Designer Washi tape in gold (p.22) and a gold heat embossed sentiment from the Teeny Tiny Wishes stamp set (p.44). Finally, the heart was created using the Scalloped Heart embosslit (retired) and Whisper White cardstock. It has a Gold Metallic cardstock  (p.156) heart and arrow cut from the Circle and Labels Thinlit Card Dies (#133480 and #133479 online) and finally a Small Heart punched from Champagne Glimmer paper (p.156).

Feb class3These last two cards use the Circle and Label Thinlits Card Dies (#133480 and #133479 online) to create these great flip cards. I really love these Thinlit Dies. They make it so easy to create a really fun and impressive card.

The card on the left is cut using the Circle Thinlit Card Die. I used Natural White cardstock for the card base and added a piece of Red Polka Dot Parade DSP (p.154). I also added a strip of black cut using the Scallop Border punch (p.181) and a strip of Real Red over top the black piece. There is a layer of black cut with the 2-1/2″ Circle punch (p.182) on the circle portion of the card. Next, there is a layer of Real Red punched out with the   1-3/4″ Circle punch (p.182). Then I stamped the dotted label in black ink from the Lable Love stamp set (p.33) and punched it out with the coordinating Artisan Label punch (p.181). The last layer is the “Be Mine” image from the A Round Array stamp set (p.126) and punched out using the coordinating 7/8″ Scallop Circle punch (p.182).be mine insideI repeated the layers on the inside of the circle, except instead of stamping the “Be Mine” image, I just punched out a piece of white cardstock with the 7/8″ Scallop Circle punch and glued it to the center of the black label. Then I added a small heart in Real Red cardstock with a stampin’ dimensional.

Feb class3

The last card (on the right) uses the Labels Thinlit Card Die. It has a Basic Black card base and a Whisper White layer which is stamped with the Flowering Flourishes stamp set (p.118). I added a strip of white cardstock along the left edge of the card. If you look closely, you can see it has a very small scalloped edge, which I cut using the Rotary Attachment for my Stampin’ Trimmer and the Small Scallop cutting blade (p.176/177). I layered a piece of Silver Glimmer paper (p.156) on top of the white scalloped strip. I used the new stamp set, Perfect Pennants (p.27 in the Spring Occasions Catty), for the focal image, and cut that out using the Label framelit included in the Label Thinlit Card Die. Finally, I added a small glimmer heart cut using the Owl Builder punch (p.183).you and meI used the sentiment from the Loving Thoughts stamp set (p.106) for the inside of the card.

Those are the details…..6 Valentine Cards to inspire a little love. Hope you have a Happy Valentine’s Day and create some love for someone special.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

