Happy Valentine’s Day to my guys

I have only guys at my house….my husband and two sons (who are now grown and OUT of the house, actually…still hard for me to believe that). So, I am always trying to make masculine type cards….and I have to say, I used to find this pretty challenging (and still have that issue occasionally), but it has become easier the more I focus on these type of cards.

Ben:Mike Valentine

I CASED this idea from Amy O’Neill again (I think she is one of my stampin’ idols!). I did not change very much from her card.love-uI just changed the color scheme from Red and Black to Red and Gray, and altered the DSP from a pink (seemed more girly) to the More Amore DSP (SU clearance rack).  I left off the rhinestones (those felt a little girly too) and just stuck with plain and simple. I did use the Silver Glimmer paper (p.156), as she did, which may be on the feminine edge, but I liked out it added a little extra something. I LOVE the cut out love from the Expressions Thinlits Dies (retired from the recent Holiday Catalog, unfortunately), and the “U” cut from the Typeset Alphabet Bigz Dies (p.192).   Hope the guys like it!

Larry valentineThis is the card that I made for my husband. I used the same Red and Gray color scheme, but added lots of silver too.  I used a Basic Gray card base and added a layer of Silver Fancy Foil Designer Vellum (p.23 OC). The scalloped heart is from the More Amore DSP (SU clearance rack). It is a sheet of hearts and it is very easy to cut them apart to get several of these individual beauties. I added a Red Glimmer heart punched with the Full Heart Punch (p.183) and a arrow from the Label Card Thinlit Die (#133479 SU online). Next, I cut the “xoxo” from the Circle Card Thinlit Die (#133480 SU online) and the “love” from the Expressions Thinlits Dies (retired) out of a piece of Silver Foil Sheet (p.23 OC), and added them to the card with mini glue dots.

I hope you have a Happy Valentine’s Day, and give (OR maybe even receive) a handmade card to (OR from) your loved ones!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

