Sympathy Sketch

I made a couple sympathy cards this week, and I used a similar layout for both cards. It made it a little easier to make these cards quickly, since I didn’t have to come up with another card format. I made one more feminine and one masculine in style.sympathy cardsI used a black card base for both cards and a layer, which is slightly offset to the the lower left. There are 2 banners running across the lower portion of the card, and a focal image centered to the right.

sympathy1 I added a Pool Party layer which was stamped with a spotted image from the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (p.109) on this feminine card. I used the Woodgrain Embossing Folder (p.190) on a 2-1/2″ Circle punched (p.182) piece of Crumb Cake cardstock, as my next layer. I added two banners: one in Vanilla cardstock and one in the new Retro Fresh DSP (p.19 in the Spring Occasions Catty). I stamped 6 flowers from the Petite Petals stamp set (p.33 in the OC) and punched them out with the coordinating Petite Petals Punch (p.33 in the OC). I used my Crushed Curry and Early Espresso Markers to ink up the flower stamp. I cut out 3 leaf stems from the Bird Builder punch (p.183) and added those to the Woodgrain Circle. Finally, the sentiment is from the Thoughts & Prayers stamp set (p.92).sympathy 1-insideThe inside has another stamp from the Thoughts & Prayers stamp set AND another Petite Petals flower.

sympathy 2The Crumb Cake layer on this card is embossed with the Houndstooth Embossing Folder (p.191). I added a layer of Tangerine Tango cardstock and a Vanilla layer which was stamped with the image from the Thoughts & Prayers stamp set (p.92). The sentiment is from the Petite Pairs stamp set (p.73). I added two banners to this card also: one in Vanilla which is embossed with the Square Lattice Embossing Folder (p.191) and the other is a piece of Retro Fresh DSP (p.19 in the Spring Occasions Catty).

So, two cards from one sketch….it’s easy to modify a sketch or layout to come up with a quick card to serve different purposes. So often, I have a hard time coming up with an idea for a card, but if I start with a sketch, it seems to make is much easier.

Thanks for stopping by for a look today! Happy Stampin’

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

