Technique Tuesday- Starburst Technique

Today’s Starburst technique is a great one for creating an interesting background AND using up some of those designer series papers that are beginning to pile up in your stamping stash! This has been a technique that I have been wanting to try for quite some time. I have seen LOTS of samples online which use it, and so I finally sat down and gave it a try.

There are several ways of doing this easy technique, so I will try to explain a few of them, and you can decide which is the best way for you. I saw a nice video tutorial by Kay Kalthoff, and tried that method first.

Basically, this is her method:                                                                                                          Starburst Technique-                                                                                                                    -Cut 4-6 strips of designer series paper 1 ½” x 4 or 5” (depending on the size of the starburst design).                                                                                                                                -Cut the strips diagonally to create 2 triangles per strip.                                                            -Cut a piece of cardstock to attach the triangles to. Use a glue stick or adhesive on the piece of cardstock.                                                                                                                              -Find the center of the cardstock piece and attach the first triangle at the center mark.      -Continue adding triangles by working from the center out to cover the entire area.           -Trim off excess designer series paper around the edges of the cardstock pieces

starburst2I CASED Kay’s card from the video for my first attempt at this technique too. I used Venetian Romance DSP (p.153) for the Starburst. The card base is Pistachio Pudding, and I added a layer of Island Indigo. Next, I added the Starburst piece and a piece of the Natural Chevron Ribbon (p.18 in the Spring Occasions Catalog). You may be wondering where the chevron is?! Well, I turned the ribbon over and have the back side of the ribbon showing instead. This is just a nice Natural looking ribbon on the back side….kind of like having two ribbons in one!  Next, I stamped two flowers from the Mixed Bunch stamp set (p.89) in Island Indigo ink on Vanilla cardstock, and punched them out with the coordinating Blossom Punch (p.183). I layered these on top of each other, and then added another smaller flower to the center from the Petite Petals stamp set (p.33 in the OC), which I inked in Calypso Coral ink and punch out with the Petite Petals Punch (p.33 in the OC). Finally, I added a small punch from the Itty Bitty Punch pack (p.180) in Pistachio Pudding and a pearl.  Thanks, Kay, for the great idea!

starburst3This card was inspired by a card in the Stampin’ Up catalog (p.110). I created this Starburst by using 2 pieces of scrap cardstock. One measured 2-1/4″ x 4-1/4″ and the other measured 1-1/4″ x 4-1/4″. I used the same method as above to create 2 Starbursts this time, and attached the pieces to the card base matching up the points to create this variation. I used a Crushed Curry card base and Eastern Elegance DSP (p.154) to create the Starburst pieces. I added a banner in Whisper White and stamped with “hello” from the Four You stamp set (p.22) in Coastal Cabana ink. I added a piece of Coastal Cabana ruffled ribbon (p.173) and several buttons (p.168) tied with White Baker’s twine (p.173).

starburst4The Starburst on this card was created just as I explained in the previous card, however this time I used a 3-1/2″ x 3-3/4″ piece of scrap cardstock and a 1-1/2″ x 3-3/4″ piece of scrap cardstock to attach the DSP pieces to. I used the Modern Medley DSP (p.154), a Vanilla card base, and layers of Black and Cherry Cobbler cardstock. I added a heart to the center of the Starburst which I cut with the Heart Collection Framelits (p.187) and embossed with the Elegant Lines Embossing Folder (retired). I added a small banner from the Itty Bitty Banners stamp set (p.30) and coordinating Bitty Banner Framelits (p.187).

Another very EASY method to create the Starburst technique, is by just randomly cutting DSP without measuring. I found this method HERE, from Lyssa Griffin Zwolanek (she has a very nice photo tutorial), and I like this one because there is really no measuring involved AND you get enough pieces to create 4 Starbursts for the “price” of one (so to speak).                                                                                                                                    Starburst Technique (second option):Cut 4 pieces of DSP to the desired Starburst design size. Stack all 4 pieces on top of each other and cut diagonally from the center point (all at once).  Use one piece from each of the 4 DSP’s to recreate the original size and line up to create the Starburst design (kind of like putting a puzzle back together).IMG_6218This card was created using this second method. I cut a piece of scrap cardstock 3-3/4″ x 4-1/2″ ane then cut 4 pieces, 3-3/4″ x 3-1/2″, of the Sweet Sorbet DSP from the Sale-a-bration brochure. I stacked them on top of each other and cut them all at once, with my paper trimmer, to create the 4 pieces for my Starburst. I added a strip of Pool Party cardstock to the side of the Starburst, and attached that entire piece to a layer of Whisper White cardstock and a Crisp Cantalope card base.  I tied a piece of Silver Baker’s Twine (p.24 in the Spring Occasions Catty) around the layers, and added some flowers. I used the Flower Shop stamp set (p.94), the Pansy Punch (p.183), the Petite Petals stamp set (p.33 OC), and the Petite Petals Punch (p.33 OC) to create the flowers. I added rhinestones to the centers for the final touch.  AND, I had enough cut pieces of DSP to make 3 more cards!!

Starburst 1 I used a slightly different approach for this card. I started out by taking a piece of scratch paper and drew a circle where I intended to place a focal point. Next, I found the center of the circle and drew lines, across the paper, intersecting through the center of the circle. I used this as my template for the card, and cut pieces of DSP from the cut-outs of the template.IMG_6217

I used a Calypso Coral card base and a layer of Vanilla with Etcetera DSP (p.153) to create  the Starburst. I used the Decorative Dots Embossing Folder from the Sale-a-bration brochure to emboss the Vanilla layer. Next, I layered a 2-1/2″ Circle (p.182) punched of Calypso Coral cardstock, a 2-3/8″ Scalloped Circle (p.182) punched of Basic Gray cardstock, and a 1-3/4″ Circle (p.182) punched out of Watercolor paper (p.156). I stamped the image from the Happy Watercolor stamp set (p.22 in the Spring Occasions Catty), and watercolored it using a aqua painter (p.164) and ink.

OK, there you have it….the Starburst Technique!  I hope you give this technique a try. It is really a nice look and can be done really easily too. Thanks for stopping by and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

