Make It Monday- Hexagon Hive Thinlits Die

Today I wanted to share some cards that I created with the new Hexagon Hive Thinlits Die (p.26 in the Spring Occasions Catalog). I love this new thinlits die. It really cuts a beautiful Hexagon design and is an easy way to make a very impressive card.Hex Hive-1I CASED this card from Patty Bennett.  I did change a few things, but I liked her basic layout. I used a Basic Gray card base and a layer of Epic Day This and That DSP (p.154). I cut a Whisper White piece of cardstock with the Hexagon Hive Thinlit and glued that to the card.  I cut out several small flowers with the new Petite Petals Punch (p.33 in the Spring Occasions Catty) from the same pack of Epic Day DSP. I sponged the edges of the flowers with Calypso Coral ink and added rhinestones to the centers. Finally, I stamped one of the Hexagon cut-outs with the “thanks” from the Another Thank You Photopolymer stamp set (#133454 available online from Stampin’ Up), and attached it to the card with a stampin’ dimensional.

Hex Hive-2I used a Pool Party card base, a So Saffron cardstock layer, and a Whisper White Hexagon Hive cut layer for this card. I added a butterfly from the Backyard Basics stamp set and coordinating Framelits bundle (p.79). I used markers to color the butterfly and attached it to the card with a stampin’ dimensional. Finally, I added a banner from the new Perfect Pennants stamp set and Banners Framelits bundle (p.27 in the Spring Occasions Catty). I used a versamark ink pad and white embossing powder to stamp the pennant onto a piece of Pool Party cardstock, and then cut it out with the framelits. It feels very Spring-like, to me.

IMG_6227I used a Whisper White card base for this card. I added a piece of Crisp Cantaloupe DSP from the 2013-2015 In Color DSP stack (p.141). I cut out a piece of Crisp Cantaloupe cardstock with the Hexagon Hive Thinlits Die and added that to the card next. I attached several of the Hexagon cut-outs back to the card over the remaining Hexagons to create a double Hexagon look for some dimension. The focal point of this card is three stacked flowers cut from Calypso Coral cardstock using the Floral Fusion Sizzlits (p.188). I added pearls to the centers and leaves cut using the Little Leaves Sizzlits (p.188) from Pear Pizzazz cardstock.

HexigonsThis last card uses some of the cut-outs from the previous cards to create this interesting Hexagon design. I embossed the white hexagons with the Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder (p.191) for some added interest. I used the Hexagon Punch (p.180) for the larger hexagons in Crisp Cantaloupe. I used white embossing powder, versamark ink, and the Another Thank You Photopolymer stamp set (#133454) for the sentiment. The card base is Calypso Coral cardstock.  This was a good way to use up some of those hexagons which were left-over from all those other cards!

ONE TIP: Remember to use a piece of wax paper between your cardstock and Hexagon Hive Thinlits Die for a much better cut and ease in releasing all those cut-out hexagons. This really does make a difference, so try not to forget this piece of advice.

I hope you are ready to try this new Stampin’ Up product for yourself. It really makes quick and beautiful cards….I love it!

 

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make It Monday- Hexagon Hive Thinlits Die

  1. Evelyne Moran says:

    Great cards Miechelle, I just bought the die, and I had to try it out! What a great idea to use wax paper. It comes out so easy. Have to try that with some of my other dies. Thhanks for the wunderful cards and great tip.
    Evelyne

Leave a Reply

