Happy 19th Birthday!

Well, this week was my youngest son’s birthday and this is the card that I made for him.

19th bdayI was trying to come up with a good masculine look, and so the Silver Foil Sheets (p.23 in the Spring Occasions Catty) just seemed to be a good choice to give it that metallic look. I used the new Arrows Embossing Folder (p.26 in the OC) to emboss the Silver Foil layer.

I added that layer to a Basic Black cardstock layer and a Tangerine Tango card base. I added three banners to the card from my stash of DSP (all retired), and a focal point with the “19” cut with my Typeset Alphabet Bigz dies (p.192). I cut a Black set of numbers and a Silver set of numbers and then layered them to create the shadow effect. The numbers were glued to a Deco Label in Vanilla, and Black and Taken with Teal (retired color) Circles (p.186) which were all cut with framelits. 19th bday3I really love the metallic look and shine to this card. AND I always love to use up some of those old retired papers too. I had forgotten how much I really did like the color Taken with Teal!19th bday insideThis is the inside of the card. I had seen a card a while ago that had a string with little tags or banners hanging across the inside of card, so this is my take on that idea.

I used some of the Silver Baker’s Twine (p.24 in the OC) to “hang” the banners. I punched a hole in the front of the card and attached the end of the Baker’s Twine underneath the card layers on the front of the card. Then I strung the twine across and attached the other end with a mini glue dot to the other side of the card. I covered that end up with a stamp from the Starburst Sayings stamp set and coordinating framelits (p.34 in the OC) in Tangerine Tango ink. I added a 1-1/4″ circle in Taken with Teal behind the Starburst Saying, a 1/2″ circle of Silver Foil on top of the Starburst Saying, and the little banner from the Starburst Saying stamp in black ink on vanilla cardstock to complete the embellishment. I added this to the card with a stampin’ dimensional.

19th bday inside2

Next, I stamped and punched some banners from the Sale-a-bration stamp set, Banner Blast, and the coordinating Banner Punch. AND I used the smallest banner from the Banners Framelits (p.27 in the OC) to cut out several more banners from DSP and cardstock. These I added to the Baker’s Twine with Multipurpose Liquid Glue (p.175). I just applied a small line of glue along the twine and layed the banners on top. I put a piece of wax paper underneath to prevent the twine from getting stuck to the card base. I wanted the little banners to “hang” freely and have some movement when the card was opened. SO CUTE!!

Lastly, I added the Happy Birthday from the Sassy Salutations stamp set (p.39) in black ink.

So, there it is….my masculine 19th birthday card for my baby, I mean my son.  Just so hard to think about the passage of time….he has seemed to grow up overnight!           Well, thanks for looking and stop by again sometime.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

