New Baby Card

baby card1I made this cute baby card for a friend who just had their first baby. I was inspired by a great work of art that I found on Pinterest by Mikaela Titheridge. I really loved how she used the Baby Prints stamp set as the focal point and then added the words over top. I was going to stop there, but then I decided to add the little banners and hearts, just to see how it would look on the card too.  Well, I think, it is pretty darn cute, huh!? Thanks, Mikaela, for the great idea!

baby card4I started with a card base of Natural Ivory (p.156) and used the Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder (p.191) to emboss. I stamped the footprints from the Baby Prints stamp set (p.56) in Pool Party ink on a White piece of cardstock and layered that on a piece of Pool Party cardstock with stampin’ dimensionals. I used the words from the Baby Prints stamp set and the Cuddles & Kisses stamp set (p.56) and embossed them with gold embossing powder. The banner was created with the Banner punch (Sale-a-bration item) and the “baby” from the Baby Prints stamp set. I used my versamark pen to ink the individual letters and then embossed them with gold embossing powder and punched them out with the punch. I attached them to a piece of gold cord with mini glue dots and then added a second banner behind each one to prevent the banners from sticking to the card. I wanted them to hang freely and have a little movement with the card. I just poked a few holes in the card, with my paper piercing tool, to tie the gold cord in a bow at each end. Finally, I added a second gold cord and a couple gold foil hearts (attached in the same manner as the banners), to give it an additional layer of interest. I put just a touch of Multipurpose Liquid Glue (p.175) on each knot of the bows to prevent them from untying and to keep them secure.

baby card2baby card3

This was a fun card to create, and I love the way it turned out too!  I hope you can get a little inspiration from it, and get your creative juices flowing also. Don’t be afraid to look for ideas where ever you can….it may just be the perfect way to get you going on your next perfect card!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Baby Card

  1. caroline says:

    very nice, love the text, Greetings Carooline

  2. stormy says:

    i never knew what the big deal was using naturals paper but i see it make a diff on here. very nice.

  3. StampinU says:

    Thank you! AND another bonus about the Naturals Ivory and White paper….is that they are a little less expensive than Whisper White and Very Vanilla, so that is nice too.

Leave a Reply

