Technique Tuesday- Pinwheel Technique

This is another great technique for those of us who are designer series paper “collectors”. I have a VERY large collection of DSP, and am always looking for nice ways to cut into my stash. These cards are not only good for that, but you don’t even need big pieces of paper for this technique, so if you “collect” and SAVE every bit of DSP….this technique is for you!pinwheel3

This first card was inspired by a card that I saw HERE. It also has nice directions for the technique, but here is my quick take on it.                                                                                     Pinwheel Technique:                                                                                                                   -Cut 2 pieces of cardstock 2-5/8”x 2-5/8” and 8 squares of DSP or cardstock 1 ¼”x 1 ¼”  -Overlap the 2 large squares diagonally to create the base for the DSP squares.                   -Apply adhesive to the Right Corner ONLY of the first 1 ¼” square and attach in the first corner of the base piece.                                                                                                                                 -Attach a contrasting 1 ¼” square to the next corner overlapping the first square.              -Continue adding squares in an alternating pattern around the base piece in a clockwise direction.                                                                                                                                              -Tuck the final square under the left corner of the first square to complete the pinwheel.  -Embellish the center of the pinwheel with a rhinestone, pearl, or brad (optional).

There is also a great tutorial HERE.

I used the Postage Stamp punch (p.180) on this card to punch out the pieces for the pinwheel. It works great and is just the right size for the directions, so that makes it easy. I used Pool Party cardstock and Sweet Sorbet DSP for the pinwheel, a Pool Party card base, and Black, White, and Soft Sky layers. I embossed the White layer with the Scallop design from the Needlepoint Border embossing folders (p.190) and added a black Taffeta Ribbon (p.173). I added a brad and a 3/4″ black circle to the center.

pinwheel1This is a bright and cheery version of this technique. I used Polka Dot Parade DSP (p.154) and Quatrefancy Specialty DSP (p.150) for the pinwheel. I have a Daffodil Delight card base, and layers in Black, White, and Daffodil Delight. I embossed the White layer with the Decorative Dots embossing folder (Sale-a-bration item) and added a Daffodil Delight stitched grosgrain ribbon (p.173). There is a black glimmer brad (p.170) in the center.

pinwheel4I used a Vanilla card base here, and added layers of Soft Suede and Crisp Canteloupe. I used my Beautifully Baroque embossing folder (p.191) on the Crisp Canteloupe layer, AND I inked the folder with white craft ink before embossing to create the two toned embossed piece. I used Venetian Romance DSP (p.153) for the pinwheel, and used Soft Suede for the pinwheel base pieces. Finally, I added a Modern Label punch (p.181) with the sentiment from the hostess stamp set, Express Yourself (p.205).

pinwheel2This last sample is made with Retro Fresh DSP (p.19 in the Spring Occasions Catty) for the pinwheel design. I also used my Square Lattice embossing folder (p.191) to emboss the pinwheel portion of this card. This really adds some nice texture and gives it a quilted feel. I love that!  I used a Tangerine Tango card base and a Vanilla layer. I used my Perfect Polka Dots and Framed Tulips embossing folders (p.191) to emboss the Vanilla layer. I did a double embossing technique to add the Framed Tulips embossed design to the bottom of the Vanilla piece. You can refer back to this Technique Tuesday for instructions on that. I added an Early Espresso Taffeta Ribbon (p.173) and a Very Vintage Designer Button (p.169). I used a very narrow strip of Early Espresso cardstock through the holes of the button to mimic thread. This is a great way to get just the perfect color faux thread to match your card!

Well, I really had fun playing around with this technique, and it helped me use up some of my paper stash too. Thanks for looking and see you again soon.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

