Fun with Fringe Scissors!

Well, if you are still waiting for your Fringe Scissors that you ordered recently….sorry, but they are STILL on backorder! These things must be very popular, since it seems like ages since they have been in stock….BUT, they are definitely worth the wait. I have made a few things with them and would like to share some of those today.fringe2

This card was CASED from Kerry Timms. I used her basic layout, and several of the same elements, but I did change the color scheme slightly. I used a Crumb Cake card base, and added a layer of Marina Mist. I added a Fringed edge and banner in Cajun Craze. I used my new Fringe Scissors (p.31 in the Spring Occasions Catty) for the fringed edge and my new Banner Framelits (p.27 in the Spring Occasions Catty) to cut out the banner. I added a piece of white cardstock which I stamped with the “arrow” image from the Petal Parade stamp set (Sale-a-bration item) in Cajun Craze, Marina Mist, and Crumb Cake ink. Next I used my Scalloped  Tag Topper Punch (p.35 in OC) to create the tag. I added a piece of Natural Chevron Ribbon (p.18 in OC) tied with White Baker’s Twine (p.173). I also embossed the tag with the new Arrows embossing folder (p.26 in OC). The final element is the Starburst Sayings stamp (p.34 in OC) which was cut out with the coordinating Starburst Framelits (p.34 in OC) and layered on a 1-1/4″ circle punch (p.182). It really has a nice masculine feel to it with all the arrow elements.

fringe 1This card was also CASED. I saw a great card by Laura Mackie HERE, and just had to use some of her inspiration!  I used a Sahara Sand card base, as she did, and added some background images from the Petal Parade stamp set (Sale-a-bration item) with versamark ink. I love using versamark ink in this way….so easy to get a nice tone-on-tone look with a versamark pad!  Next, I used my Large Scallop Edgelit die (p.188) to cut out 6 pieces of cardstock in Pink Pirouette, Blushing Bride, and Primrose Petals. I used my Fringe Scissors (p.31 in OC) to cut along the scalloped edge of 3 of the pieces. I attached these all together and then added a piece of Primrose Petals Stitched Satin Ribbon (p.173), before attaching them all to the card. I used the “Hello” from the Lacy & Lovely stamp set (p.117) and stamped it in Raspberry Ripple ink.

treat holder1

This idea was partly from a card that I saw by Dawn Olchefske and a little treat holder by Mary Fish. I was looking for a good example of using the Fringe Scissors to make grass, and these ideas just came together to become the perfect little Easter creation!  I used a Crisp Canteloupe strip of cardstock and punched each end with the Scalloped Tag Topper punch (p.35 in OC). I scored the strip to create the little “box” area for a piece of candy or whatever other little treasure will go inside. Next, I punched out two ovals using my Extra-Large Oval punch (p.182) from the Sweet Sorbet DSP (Sale-a-bration item). I added my “grass” and a Modern Label punch (p.181) with the sentiment from the Teeny Tiny Wishes stamp set (p.44).  Finally, I tied a piece of coordinating twine from the Sweet Sorbet Accessory Pack (Sale-a-bration item) to close up the top of the treat holder.treat holderWell, I think you can see why the Fringe Scissors are so popular now. They are a very nice addition to your stamping toolbox, and hopefully you can get your hands on some very soon!  Have a great day and thanks for looking.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 3-D Items, Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

