Birthday Card in a Box

card in a boxI have been admiring these great Cards in a Box online and was very intimidated to try one….BUT, I just had to check it out, and I was so excited to realize it was not that hard after all!  I made this Card in a Box for a sweet girl turning 19! Happy Day, Rachel!!

I found several tutorials online for this Card in a Box idea, so after watching a few youtube videos, I was confident to try if for myself. I will share some more details on this in the future, but I just wanted to give you little teaser for now.

card in a box4I used some new and old Stampin’ Up products on this card. The card base or Box was made with a piece of Bermuda Bay cardstock. I added some Birthday Basics DSP (p.153) to the sides and flaps of the box. Next, I added a Deco Label Framelit (p.186) cut from a piece of Basic Gray, a 1-3/4″Circle (p.182) in Vanilla, a 1-3/8″Circle (p.182) in Raspberry Ripple, and a Silver Glimmer “19” cut with my Timeless Type Alphabet Junior Sizzlits (retired).

I used the Starburst Sayings stamp set and coordinating Starburst framelits (p.34 in the Spring Occasions Catty), and the Circle Collections Framelits (p.186) to add some layers. I added a row of banners from the Banner Blast stamp set, coordinating Banner punch (Sale-a-bration items), and Birthday Basics DSP. Then I added a bunch of balloons from the Party This Way stamp set (retired), and I added some Silver Baker’s Twine (p.24 in OC) to each balloon. Finally,I added some Silver Glimmer stars which I punched out with my retired small star punch.

IMG_6278

The great thing about this box, is that it actually folds flat to fit into an envelope too! What a big surprise when it’s opened and the fun is revealed…..LOVE IT!

Card in a box3The magic is in the pieces of cardstock inside the box…this is where you attach the clear window sheet strips to. Then you attach the extra embellishments that pop out of the box to the window sheet strips with mini glue dots. It makes it appear as if the embellishments are floating or popping out, since you don’t really see the window sheet strips…so cool!

card in a box5I added a small pocket on the back to add a little extra birthday fun money, and a piece of white cardstock to write my message.

I’m so glad I finally tried this Card in a Box idea. It is so fun to create something that will really have a WOW factor when opened. It was also fun to come up with the perfect things to have “POP” out of the box. There could be endless options for this type of card, and I’m sure this will not be the last one that I make. Thanks for stopping by today, and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 3-D Items, Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Birthday Card in a Box

  1. Dicta Schoenfelder says:

    Miechelle, that is so cute!

  2. Chris Hnatiuk says:

    Miechelle, what a wonderful card! Love the spacing/balance of the balloons, the use of the banners, and the numbers used on the front flap! Never would have thought to put a pocket on the back as well — brilliant! Chris

Leave a Reply

