Scalloped Tag Topper Punch Cards

So, if you have not seen these great cards made with the Scalloped Tag Topper Punch (p. 35 in the Spring Occasions Catalog) yet, you are missing out!!  I was a little skeptical, at first, if I actually “needed” this Tag Punch, but after seeing so many excellent samples online of the cards that so many talented stampers were sharing, I knew I must have it! What can I say….I’m a sucker for a good stamping tool.make-n-take cardThis is the card that we made in my last round of stamp clubs, and it was fun to see how excited everyone was after seeing how easy it was to create. I got my inspiration from this card made by Kylie Bertucci. I loved how she used the Red, Black, Gray, and White color palette. It really caught my eye, and so, I decided to go with that and convert it to a Scalloped Tag Topper card.

I found some great directions online from various sources on how to create this card, but here is the gist of it:                                                                                                             Scallop Tag Topper Punch Card                                                                                            -Use a 5 ½” x 8 ½” piece of card stock.                                                                                         -Find the center of the 5 ½” sides and make a small pencil mark.                                            -Insert the cardstock into the Punch and line up the center of the Scallop Tag Topper with the pencil marks and punch on each end of the cardstock piece.                                               -Use your paper trimmer to remove the extra cardstock from either side of the punched areas.                                                                                                                                                     -Score to create the fold along one of the Scallop Tag Toppers and then turn the cardstock over to score at 4 ¼” for the card size.                                                                                           -Embellish the card and use a ribbon between the Scallop Tag Toppers to tie the card closed.

We used the Sale-a-bration stamp set, Petal Parade, and the Perfect Pennants stamp set and coordinating Banners Framelits bundle (p.27 in the Spring Occasions Catty) for the images and words on the card. We added a piece of Stitched Grosgrain Ribbon (p.173) in Red OR Gray for the closure on the card.

scalloped tag topper card2This card was CASED from Laura Mackie. I really did not change much of anything from her original idea….just a subtle change of color from Crisp Canteloupe on her card to Tangerine Tango on mine. I also added some Champagne Glimmer circles (p.156) in the centers of the flowers to add a little extra bling.

The card base is Baked Brown Sugar with layers of Very Vanilla. The stamp set is Happy Watercolor (p.22 in the Spring Occasions Catty), and there are some gold accents added from the Gold Sequin Trim (p.23 in OC). I used a piece of Crumb Cake Seam Binding Ribbon (p.173) to tie the closure.scalloped tag topper2insideI really loved her idea of punching a hole in the front of the card to see the flower stamped on the inside too! That really added another bit of WOW to this already fabulous card.  Such a wonderful card creation…thank you, Laura!

Well, those are just a couple ideas for you to get a little excited about the Scalloped Tag Topper Punch. If you are like me….You will NEED it too!  Just click on the Spring Occasions Catalog in the right column to order yours today!!

Happy Stampin’!

 

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

