Technique Tuesday- Hexagon Punch Star Fold Technique

Today’s technique is a simple fold to create a fabulous star design with double sided Designer Series Papers and the Hexagon Punch (p.180).hex star2Here are the details on the technique:                                                                                               Hexagon Punch Star Fold Technique-                                                                                      1. Punch out 6 hexagons using the Hexagon Punch                                                                       2. Score and fold each hexagon into a “kite shape” (a diagonal fold from corners to center point)                                                                                                                                                     3.Put the 6 punches side by side to form a larger hexagon shape with a star in the center

I also found this great photo tutorial HERE for some extra help, courtesy of Lyssa Griffin Zwolanek.

On the card above, I used a Coastal Cabana card base, a Basic Gray layer, a white embossed layer, and a Crushed Curry layer. I used Eastern Elegance DSP (p.154) for the Hexagon Star pattern, and layered that on a piece of Basic Gray cardstock. I used my scissors to cut the Gray layer around the hexagon star. I embossed the White layer with the Modern Mosiac Embossing Folder (p.191), and I heat embossed the Crushed Curry layer with Pewter embossing powder (p.167), and a stamp from the Lovely Romance stamp set (p.63). I added a piece of Coastal Cabana Ruffle Stretch Trim (p.173) and a Large Rhinestone (p.171) for the final embellishments.

hexagon star1This card started with a Sahara Sand card base, a Crisp Cantaloupe layer, and a Whisper White layer which was embossed with the Stripes Embossing Folder (p.191). I used the Sweet Sorbet DSP (Sale-a-bration item) for the Hexagon Star and added a Gold Glimmer Brad (p.170) to the center.  I layered the Hexagon Star onto a Crisp Cantaloupe piece which was cut with the Window Frames Collection Framelits (p.186). Then I added a Circle Framelit (p.186) cut piece in Sahara Sand, as the last layer. Finally, I added a White  Taffeta Ribbon (p.173) and a tag attached with a piece of White Baker’s Twine (p.173). The tag was made up of a Small Oval Punch (p.182) in Sahara Sand, and two labels in White and Sahara Sand from the Little Labels Punch Pack (p.181). I stamped the word “Thanks” from the Lovely Little Labels coordinating stamp set (p.108).

hex star3This final card is fun,  because the Hexagon Star Fold design fits just perfectly onto the Circle Thinlits Card Die (#133480, Stampin’ Up online). I used a Pool Party card base and Epic Day This and That DSP (p.154). I added a couple small circles, which I punched out with the Owl Builder Punch (p.183), to the center of the Hexagon Star, and a Pool Party Candy Dot (p.171). I embossed the left edge of the card with the Needlepoint Border Embossing Folder (p.190) and added a piece of Silver Baker’s Twine (p.24 in the Spring Occasions Catalog).

I really like how this technique creates an interesting design which reminds me of a quilt pattern. I also love that it is easily made using just the Hexagon Punch and DSP. I am always looking for good ideas to use all my many scraps of DSP, and this one fits the bill! Hopefully, I can make a dent in my paper stash by using this fun technique. Have a great day and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Technique Tuesday- Hexagon Punch Star Fold Technique

  1. Joni says:

    Love these…

  2. thanks for the shout out, Miechelle! Your version is lovely!!

Leave a Reply

