A Little NEW and a Little OLD

So, I promised a new creation for today, and here it is! I was just dying to try out the new Blendibilities Markers (p.212), so I thought I would do some playing around and see what I could come up with. I have always been a little intrigued by some of the other alcohol based markers on the market, but never gave any a try. I was excited to learn that Stampin’ Up was working on their version of these blendable markers, and since I LOVE to color, I was ready to give them a try.blended bloom3

They are designed to give you a very smooth blended look to create a very dimensional effect with your coloring. They are packaged in groups of three for ease in determining the blendable colors. They have dual tips, with a brush end and a finer tip end. There are some words of caution when using these markers…Be Careful when putting on the lids. There is a inner cap within the cap, that sits just around the tips, so it may be very easy to damage the tips if you are not aware of that when putting on the lids. Also, these are alcohol base markers, which means they may be more susceptible to drying out, so getting the lids on tight is important too.

I used the Pumpkin Pie Assortment on this card and added some darker tones in the flower center with the two brown tones from the Skin Tone Assortment. I also used the Color Lifter to remove a little color from the center of each petal. This seemed to give the flower even more dimension.blended bloom 1This image shows just what I used. I stamped the Blended Bloom stamp (p.167) in the Memento ink (p.212). This is a permanent black ink that will not bleed with the alcohol markers (a must have). back 2Something else to be aware of with these markers…..they will definitely bleed through your cardstock, so will have to layer or cut our your blended image. This is the back of my flower, so you can see how much it bleeds through the cardstock. You need to make sure you hava a piece of scratch paper underneath your work too, or your table will be very colorful when you are finished!  I used Shimmery White cardstock (p.193) for my bloom. It is a little heavier weight than just regular Whisper White cardstock, so that seemed to be a good choice also. blended bloom4I layered the bloom onto a piece of Whisper White cardstock, a piece of Moonlight Designer Series Paper Stack (p.185), a piece of Early Espresso, and a card base of the new In-Color, Tangelo Twist. I added a piece of Tangelo Twist 3/8″ Stitched Satin ribbon (p.207), and the words from the Something to Say stamp set (p.104) in Early Espresso ink.

I  love the way these new markers create a beautiful dimensional look and I’m sure they will continue to be a feature in many cards to come. It was fun to do a little experimenting and I love the finished card.

mothers day1This is the “OLD” part of this post. I CASED this card from Chantal de Koste on Pinterest,   and created it for my mom for Mother’s Day (so, we have moved onto some of my May creations now). I used the Circle Card Thinlit Die (p.228 in the new catty) and Crumb Cake cardstock. I stamped the Hardwood background stamp (p.175) in Early Espresso ink and sponged the edges of the card with Soft Suede ink. I used the Petite Petals stamp set (p.125) and matching Petite Petals punch (p.219) for the flowers. I stamped them in Blushing Bride and Primrose Petals ink colors. I used the retired sizzlit, Little Leaves (p.188 in the old catty), for the Early Espresso cardstock leaves, and the Itty Bitty Shapes Punch Pack (retired, p.180 in the old catty) for the small punched flowers. I added a bunch of rhinestones and a little banner from the Itty Bitty Banners stamp set (p.79 in the new catty).mothers day 1insideI also added some speckles from the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (p.165) on the inside and out of the circle portion of the card. The Happy Mother’s Day is from one of my “old” retired hostess sets, Something to Celebrate.

mothers day2This is another CASED card from Elaine Schader. I really did not change much on this card from the original, but I did use two pieces of ribbon and a scalloped edge. I kept the card in a monotone color scheme of Early Espresso and Very Vanilla. I used the Creative Elements stamp set (retired), the Background Builders stamp set (retired), and the sentiment from the Delightful Dozen stamp set (retired).

Well, there it is…..NEW and OLD inspiration. I hope you have time to play in your stamp room today, and create a little something of your own. Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, New Products-2014-2015 Catalog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Little NEW and a Little OLD

  1. Joni says:

    Glad you’re back! Love your stuff!

Leave a Reply

