Technique Tuesday- Chevron Punch Lattice Technique

Well, I’m still trying to catch up….so sorry, it has been a few days since my last post again.    It is time for another new technique. I did this technique with my stamp clubs last month, so I thought I would share it here also. I love this easy technique using the Chevron Punch (p. 222) from Stampin’ Up. I saw a great video from Connie Collins on how to do this technique, so check it out HERE.

chev latt 3

Here is my take on it:                                                                                                                         Chevron Punch Lattice Technique: Cut 2 pieces of card stock 1-1/4″ x 8-1/2″. Use the Chevron Punch to punch across the length of the cardstock strips.                                   *Make sure you begin punching near the end of the strip and watch underneath the punch when you near the other end of the strip to make sure the last chevron is within the strip.  Lay the 2 punched strips on top of each other with the chevrons pointing the opposite directions.                                                                                                                                             Click the pointed tips of the chevrons under each other to secure the 2 strips together. Then gently pull from each end to get the desired lattice look.                                                Add a little adhesive (glue pen, glue stick, or snail adhesive) to the back of the lattice and attach to your card or project. Trim off excess at either end.

So, for the card above, I CASED this card from Brianna Thompson. I used a Crumb Cake card base and stamped it with the Hardwood background stamp (p.175). Created the lattice with Whisper White cardstock, and added some flowers in Daffodil Delight and Island Indigo from the Petite Petals stamp set (p.125) and coordinating Petite Petals punch (p.219). I also added some leaves which were cut with the Little Leaves Sizzlit (retired) in Old Olive. Finally, I added a sentiment from the retired hostess stamp set, Simply Sketched. I used the Large Oval and Scallop Oval punches (p.220,221) to layer the sentiment. Last, but not least, Pearls (p.209) in the centers of each flower.

chev latt 4This card was CASED from Connie Collins. I used the same basic color scheme, but just changed the DSP and stamp set. I loved the black and vanilla with a touch of Daffodil Delight. I used Modern Medley DSP (retired), and the Chalk Talk stamp set (p.11) and coordinating Chalk Talk Framelits (p.230) and 1-3/8″ and 1-1/4″ Circle Punches (p.221). I added two little flowers from the Itty Bitty Punch Pack (retired) and some pearls.

chev latt 2This card was CASED from Julia’s Cards. I loved the way she had the lattice at the bottom edge of the card and left it open, so you could see through to the inside. I just used my punch on the bottom edge of the card front and then punched the second strip from another piece of cardstock to create the lattice. EASY and looks great!! I used Gingham Garden DSP (retired) and the Blossom Party Originals Die (retired) to create the flowers.  I added a piece of Strawberry Slush Ruffled Ribbon (retired) and a white layer punched with the Dotted Scallop Ribbon Border punch (p.222). The card base is Bermuda Bay cardstock.

chev latt 1This is my last card for today, and this card was CASED from Lyssa Griffin Zwolanek. I changed a couple things on this card….the colors, the tape, and the stamp set, but it is still a very close duplicate of the original. I used a Sahara Sand card base and a Whisper White and Perfect Plum cardstock layers. I added a piece of Delicate Details Lace Tape (p.171) and a bird and branches from the Bird Builder Punch (p.223). I used the Background Builders stamp set (retired) to add the script to the bird and wings.                                       Now if you look closely you can see that my lattice on this card is created by punching out the cardstock and then adding the punched out pieces back overtop the Chevron pattern to create the lattice. This is another method which also works, but you can see the glue a little bit where I attached the cut outs to the cardstock, so it is probably not my favorite way to create the lattice, but another option.

Well, that is all for today. I hope you try this beautiful and easy technique, and give your Chevron Punch another purpose for your cards. IF you don’t already have a Chevron Punch, and now MUST have one, then just order online by clicking on the catalog (in the right sidebar) or contact me to place your order. Thanks for stopping by and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

