Cards of Blue

wedding cardWell, I am trying to get caught up again….lots of gaps between posts these days, sorry about that. I am sharing a couple cards that I made this summer for various occasions. This card was CASED from a beauty made by Heather Klump. She is one of my Stampin’ Idols! I just love her designs and style, so I used her card as my inspiration for this wedding card. Her card happens to be in black and white, which would also be very pretty, but I wanted to go with Blue and Vanilla to change it up a bit.  I used a Night of Navy card base and stamped the image from the Elements of Style stamp set (retired) and embossed with clear embossing powder. It really looks beautiful in person, with that hint of shine in the background. Next, I stamped and cut out the focal image from the Apothocary Art stamp set (p.57) and matching Labels Collection framelits (p.231) in Night of Navy ink on Very Vanilla cardstock. I raised it off the card with stampin’ dimensionals. I cut the banner out with my paper snips and stamped the words from the Loving Thoughts stamp set (retired). I added the banner to the card with stampin’ dimensionals to pop it up off the card too.

wedding insideI stamped the Elements of Style image on the inside of the card also in Night of Navy ink, and the sentiment on the inside of the card is from the retired stamp set, One in a Million.

lattice edge1This card also features a Night of Navy collection of flowers as the focal point of the card. I used several retired products on this sympathy card and did a special Lattice Edge Technique, which I will share more details on tomorrow. I love the way this lattice fold adds a little extra interest to this card. I started with a Crumb Cake card base and did the the Lattice Edge technique to it. I added a layer of Night of Navy cardstock and a layer of Natural Composition Specialty Paper (retired). I rubbed my white ink pad onto the Natural Composition layer to change the look of the paper by adding the white to the background and highlighting the embossed flowers. The shiney, embossed areas of this paper will resist the white ink and give a beautiful two toned look…..LOVE THAT!!                          Next, I added a piece of “OLD” retired Night of Navy organdy ribbon. I miss this ribbon. It was always one of my favorites, and luckily I still have a nice little stash of it that I can pull out for just the right card. I added some leaves cut with my Little Leaves Sizzlit (retired) in Early Espresso cardstock, and three flowers in Night of Navy cardstock cut with my Floral Fusion Sizzlit (retired) and embellished with pearls. Finally, I added a little banner cut with my paper snips and stamped with a sentiment from the Teeny Tiny Wishes stamp set (p.18).

I hope you can take a little color inspiration from these cards and go BLUE.  I love the deep shade of Night of Navy. It just has such a classic feel to me, and can really help to produce such stricking cards.

So sorry that I have been absent again, but summer is just speeding by and my days seem to be filled with lots of things other than stamping and blogging. Hopefully, I can turn over a new leaf and get some more posting done in the coming days. See you tomorrow for Technique Tuesday!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

