Technique Tuesday- Lattice Edge Technique

So, here I am back already…..I know…. kind of hard to believe it, huh?!! 😉  Sometimes life just gets in the way of our plans for the day, and that seems to happen to me a lot lately. Oh well, here we are and so let’s get to it….                                                                                   I want to catch up on some more of the recent techniques that I have been experimenting with, and this is a great one to create an interesting fold on your cards. I saw a couple cards using this technique online a while ago, and they really caught my eye. At first sight, I thought they were made using the Chevron Punch (since they kind of looked similar to the lattice created using the Chevron Punch- see my previous post on Chevron Border Lattice Technique), however this was not the case. I found an excellent You Tube video by Patsy Waggoner to explain the details of this technique, but this is my take on it… lattice edge1Lattice Edge Technique: Create a lattice card edge using the Score Tool and Diagonal Plate.                                                                                                                                              Start with a 5-1/2” x 8-1/2” piece of cardstock and score at 4-1/4” to create your card base. Use the Score Tool and the Diagonal plate insert to score along the fold of the card.LE1 Start scoring at the 1/8” mark and score every 3/8” along the length of the card fold. Score the first mark to ¾” length and the second score to the ½” length, and continue alternating the score lines this way along the entire length.LE2*Place a ruler over the card to help keep the score lines the right length. Do the ¾” marks first, then shift the ruler to do the ½” lines.LE3LE4aCut slits along each score line, and cut to remove the piece between the first two slits (*save this piece to add later).LE5LE6Open the card to begin folding down every other “chevron”.LE8LE9Leave the points free OR tuck the points in under the points below to create a different look.LE10IMG_6383*Glue the piece that was cut out, to the end of the card, to complete the lattice look.   Fold along the score to close the card.LE14

Taa Daa!!  Isn’t that cool?! I just love it….and what an interesting fold.

simple lattice edgeThis is a very simple card using this great technique. I just added images from the Secret Garden stamp set (retired), and I used the coordinating Secret Garden framelits (retired/current Clearance Rack item) to cut out the flower image.

grunge lattice edgeThis is another simple beauty…and this time I used the retired stamp set, Happy Watercolor, and Off the Grid background stamp (retired). I love how you can create some quick and easy cards with a good WOW factor in the fold.

Thanks for stopping by again today. Come back tomorrow for a few more cards featuring this lovely Lattice Edge Technique. I hope you can sit down and try it out for yourself…you won’t be disappointed with the results. Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

