Slinky Dog 4 You!

Slinky dog bdayHello!  I made this fun card recently for my niece who turned 4 years old last month. I CASED this card from Penny Strawberry on Splitcoaststampers.  I changed my slinky dog slightly from her card, but used her basic idea. This is what you would call a Punch Art card. Everything is made with punches. I used Circle Punches, an Oval Punch, and the Word Window Punch to create the dog.  I made the slinky body by punching out the inner circle, and then punching again around the hole with a slightly larger circle punch (you can use whatever circle punches that you have, small or big will make small or a big dog). Just coordinate your circles to get the right porportions for the head, body, and back end. I made the tail by punching out a 1″ circle and then using my paper snips to cut a spiral out of the circle. This makes the tail “spring” off the card….FUN! I used my Typeset Alphabet Bigz Die (retired) to cut out the number 4, and layered it on Real Red and White cardstock circles.

I also used my Envelope Punch Board (p.194) to make a matching envelope for this card.  Since it ended up to be a little bigger than just your average 4-1/4″x 5-1/2″ card, I needed to make an envelope to fit.  It is nice not to be limited by the envelope size when creating your card. If you end up bigger or smaller….just pull out the Envelope Punch Board and solve the problem!

It was a fun card to make, and fun to watch my niece’s face when she opened the envelope and saw her card. I love seeing that look of “WOW” when a little work of art is opened for the first time! I hope you try some Punch Art for your next card.  Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

