Technique Tuesday- Faux Silk

Today I have a super simple technique to share with you.                                                 Faux Silk: Create the appearance of silk with tissue paper and stamps. This is not a new technique. In fact, it is a technique that has been around for a number of years, but it still looks beautiful and you don’t need a lot of fancy supplies to accomplish it either.

Faux Silk 1

Faux Silk:  Stamp an image on tissue paper (just the regular tissue paper you buy at the store to wrap gifts with).  After the ink dries, crinkle up the tissue paper, and then open it back up.  Try to leave some wrinkles. This is what really makes this technique interesting and gives it that fabric feel.  Adhere the stamped tissue paper to neutral cardstock with a glue stick, trim the excess tissue paper around the edges.                                                 *Another variation would be to stamp an image on neutral cardstock and glue the wrinkled tissue paper overtop.                                                                                                  *You can also use Elmer’s glue or Modge Podge to adhere tissue paper, then sprinkle dazzling diamonds over top to add sparkle.

Faux Silk blossomsI just love the way the wrinkled tissue paper looks like fabric or silk on this card. I CASED this card from a card that I saw on Pinterest from http://www.stampingchronicles.com.  I used the Too Kind stamp set (p.149) and stamped the images in Real Red, Blushing Bride, and Mossy Meadow ink on the tissue paper. I adhered the tissue paper (after I wrinkled it up and slightly flattened it back out again) to a piece of Whisper White cardstock. I used a Real Red card base and a Crumb Cake cardstock layer which I embossed with the Honeycomb Embossing Folder (p.226). I added some trim pieces in Real Red and cut using the Finishing Touches Edgelits (p.229). I also added a label punched out with the Modern Label Punch and the Word Window Punch (p.220/222) and stamped with the And Many More stamp set (p.20).

Faux Silk Corner Flower GardenThis card is a little variation of the technique. Instead of stamping on the tissue for this card, I stamped the Corner Garden background stamp (p.175) on the Whisper White cardstock layer and colored it in with markers. Next, I wrinkled up the tissue paper and attached it over the White layer with a glue stick. This really gives the flowers a soft look through the tissue paper. I stamped the image again on a piece of Whisper White cardstock, colored in the large flower, and cut it out. I added the flower to the card with stampin’ dimensionals to raise it off the card a little. I added a label punched with the Scalloped Oval Punch and the Large Oval Punch (p.221), and stamped with the sentiment from the Wetlands stamp set (p.172). I used a Soft Sky card base and a Basic Gray layer under the Faux Silk layer.

Faux Silk Stippled BlossomsThis card has stamping on the tissue paper AND on the Very Vanilla cardstock layer underneath. I stamped the Dictionary background stamp (p.175) on the Very Vanilla oval layer. Next, I stamped the Stippled Blossoms (p.159) and the sentiment from the Forever Florals stamp set (p.171) on the tissue paper. I used my Ovals Collections Framelits (p.231) to cut out the oval layers in Very Vanilla and Elegant Eggplant. I used a Wisteria Wonder card base and a Pool Party cardstock layer which was embossed with the Beautifully Baroque Embossing Folder (p.227). I used my Envelope Punch Board (p.194) to round the opposite corners of the Pool Party layer, and I added a piece of Wisteria Wonder Seam Binding Ribbon (p.207) as the final element.

Faux Silk Petite PetalsThis final card also has stamping on the tissue paper AND the Whisper White cardstock layer underneath. I used the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (p.165) and the Petite Petals stamp set (p.125), and Rose Red, Lost Lagoon, and Black ink. I used a Rose Red card base and added a label in Rose Red and Whisper White cardstock. The sentiment is from the Something to Say stamp set (p.104). I stamped three Petite Petal images with Soft Sky ink and used the coordinating Petite Petals Punch (p.219) to punch out the flowers. I added  rhinestones (p.209) to the centers. I colored the rhinestones with a permanant marker (Sharpie brand) to match the Rose Red color.

Well, now you know the basics for this easy technique. Go get your tissue paper and stamp away!! It is an easy way to give your cards an interesting silk fabric look that is sure to make your card recipient wonder just how you did that!!  I love that!  Thanks for stopping by and see you soon.

 

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

