Technique Tuesday – Scallop Tag Topper Punch Ornament

Well, guess who?!!  I realize it has been quite a while since I last posted a blog entry, so I decided that this is probably a good time to start my New Year’s resolution, right?   I have another edition of Technique Tuesday for you. I saw this technique on Tina Rappe’s Blog, and I thought it was very appropriate for this time of year (although you could really use it at any time). scallop tag orn 1

Scallop Tag Topper Punch Ornament: Create an easy ornament shape using the Scallop Tag Topper Punch and a Circle or Oval Framelit.                                                   Slide a 4” x 4” (or slightly smaller) piece of cardstock into the Scallop Tag Topper Punch until the cardstock is all the way into the punch. Center the punch along one side of the cardstock and punch.                                                                                                                   Next lay the Circle OR Oval Framelit on the piece of cardstock. Make sure to slide the Framelit UNDER the Scallop Tag Topper punched area, so you do not cut this area off. Center the Circle or Oval Framelit on either side of the Scallop Tag Topper and run through the Big Shot to cut out the shape.                                                                              Next stamp an image on another piece of cardstock and cut out with the next smaller Circle or Oval Framelit. Layer this piece onto the ornament piece and add a bow to embellish.

You Tube Video Tutorial: Scallop Tag Topper Ornament Punch Card with Deb Valder http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0doKCYdxA1I&feature=share

For the card above, I used a Night of Navy card base and layers of Whisper White, Silver Metallic, and Silver Foil cardstock. I used the Seasonally Scattered stamp set (p.43 in the Holiday Catalog) and embossed the image with white embossing powder. I cut the ornament and the layers with the Oval Framelits (p.231). I used the words from the Endless Wishes stamp set (p.32 in the Holiday catalog) and embossed those in white also. I added some Night of Navy seam binding ribbon (p.207) as the final touch.

scallop tag orn 3This card also uses the Oval Framelits for the ornament design. I used Natural Ivory cardstock for the card base and layers in Cherry Cobbler and Natural Ivory. I used the Beauty of the Season stamp set (p.26 in the Holiday catalog) for the main image and colored it using Cherry Cobbler Blendabilies (p.212). I used the Woodgrain Embossing Folder (p.227) on the Natural Ivory cardstock layer and added a piece of Very Vanilla seam binding ribbon (p. 207) for the bow. I used the Sassy Salutations stamp set (p.67) for the sentiment.

scallop tag orn 2This card uses the Circle Framelits (p.231) instead of Oval for a slightly different look.  I used a Rich Razzleberry card base with layers of Blackberry Bliss and Silver Metallic cardstock. I used the words from the Endless Wishes stamp set (p. 32 in the Holiday catalog) again and embossed them in Silver embossing powder. The tree is from the Festival of Trees stamp set (p.24 in the Holiday catalog) and was punched out with the coordinating Tree Punch (p.24 in HC). I embossed the tree image with Silver embossing powder on Silver Metallic cardstock. Then I used a sponge to apply some Rich Razzleberry ink to the the metallic cardstock to add some color to the tree. The silver embossed image resisted the ink, so it stood out even more. Pretty, huh?!  Finally, I added a piece of washi tape from the All Is Calm Designer Washi Tape collection (p.22 in the HC) and a piece of Rich Razzleberry Cotton Ribbon (p.207).

scallop tag orn4aThis last sample also uses the Circle Framelits (p.231) for the ornament.  I used a Whisper White card base with layers of Soft Sky, Smoky Slate, and Silver Foil cardstock. I used the Endless Wishes stamp set (p.32 in the HC) yet again, and embossed with silver embossing powder. I added the swirl image from the Everything Eleanor stamp set (p.69) in the background in Soft Sky ink. There is a piece of Silver 5/8″ Satin Ribbon (p.206) for the bow.

Now, have you been wondering how I made those perfect little bows?  Well, I am certainly not that talented but I did learn a little trick from the You Tube video from Deb Valder (listed above) on how to make this cute little bow with a fork!! Yes, a fork….check it out. It is a great way to make the PERFECT bow!

Well, thanks for joining me today on my new quest to be a better blogger!! I hope to live up to my New Year’s resolution….but time will tell (wink, wink). But, until be meet again… Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

