2014 “The Year of the Farm” Christmas Cards

Well, I thought maybe I should explain my absence a little bit, since there really was a big gap in my posts (about 4 months to be extract!). We labeled this past year “The Year of the Farm” in our Christmas letter, since that is really where we spent a good portion of our time this year. We purchased some property out in the country as a little retreat/hunting ground a couple years ago, and my husband had a crazy scheme to move an old barn onto the property. Well, long story short…he found a barn, he took it down the Summer of 2013, and  put it back up this past Summer and Fall. It was quite the project, and not totally finished just yet, but making great progress.

Barn Coming Down

Barn coming down

barn prairie view

Barn going up

Barn picture

Fall 2014

So, that may explain my absence a little….although I really would have loved to stay on top of things and make time for posting, I found myself with a paint brush in hand and covered in Barn Red paint for most of the summer instead.

This leads me to our Christmas cards for this year. I had to honor the barn and the big part that it, and the rest of our farm property, played in our lives this year with some cards that truely had a barn feel to them. I made three different card options, but they all started with the same basic look.

xmas 2014 2I used a Whisper White card base and Riding Hood Red (retired) cardstock layer. I stamped the Hardwood background stamp (p.175) in Riding Hood Red ink onto the cardstock layer. I used a white gel pen to add some lines around the edges as a accent, and embossed the snowflakes and words from the Endless Wishes stamp set (p.32 HC) in white embossing powder. Three little pearls were the final embellishments on the card.

Quick and easy AND very barn like.

xmas 2014 3This was the second option. I used the same card base and layer as the previous card, but for this one I used the Ornamental Pine stamp set (p.27 HC). I embossed the image and words in white embossing powder, as in the other card. Then I used my Old Olive and Crumb Cake Blendabilities (p.212) to add some color to the white embossing on the pine cone and branch.

That is one of the great qualities of Blendabilites….you can color over embossing and the embossing will not resist the color like water based markers. So, you can get this great  blended color raised image with accents of white. It really looks nice.

xmas 2014 1Finally, this is the third option that I created. I used a Riding Hood Red card base this time, and added a layer of Whisper White and Crumb Cake cardstock. I used the Hardwood stamp (p.175) again, as in the other two cards. I stamped the image from the Beauty of the Season stamp set (p.26 HC) and colored with Cherry Cobbler and Crumb Cake Blendabilities (p.212). I added some speckles from the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (p.165) in white ink and applied some white ink directly from my ink pad around the edges of the Crumb Cake cardstock. I embossed the words in white embossing powder from the Many Merry Messages stamp set (retired).

I think they all represent the barn “feel” that I was looking for pretty well, and they tied in well with my husband’s Christmas letter and “The Year of the Farm”.  I will try to keep you posted on the final stages of the barn, and hopefully it will not monopolize all of our time next summer….but time will tell (or maybe there is already another scheme in the works!)

Thanks for stopping by and see you soon!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2014 “The Year of the Farm” Christmas Cards

  1. Jeany Brookes says:

    Well done to you both, you work hard and deserve a lovely home to take a rest, I am sure it is a dream come true for both of you, what an achievement for you both. Hope you have many, many happy hours enjoying your family and friends. Love always Jeany XXXX

  2. Jeany Brookes says:

    We’ll done both of you, you both work hard & both deserve a lovely home to take a good rest, I am sure it is a dream come true, what an achievement for you. Hope you have Many, Many happy hours relaxing and enjoying your family & friends . Best Wishes lots of love . Jeany Beany XXXXx

Leave a Reply

