12th Birthday Card

I made this card for our nephew who turned 12 this past month. I wanted to make a masculine card, that would be appropriate for a young man who is not such a little guy any more. I think this idea would really be good for any age, however.12th bdayI CASED this card from HERE. I really loved the idea of stamping all kinds of birthday sentiments in white on black cardstock. It has kind of a chalk board effect, but the words just stand out nicely on the black too.

Then when I added the numbers, that just gave it another pop of color to really catch your eye.

I used any and every birthday stamp set in my collection to find just the right words and images to fit and on the card. It was fun to search for just the right stamps, and WOW, I have a lot of birthday stamp sets!! I used a stamp-a-ma-jig to get them lined up in the perfect position, and that was a life saver. There is no way I could have achieved this background without my trusty Stamp-a-ma-jig (p.235).

I cut out my numbers and letters using the Alphabet Typeset Bigz Dies (retired) and Timeless Type Alphabet Junior Sizzlits (retired) from Crushed Curry and Real Red cardstock. I used stampin’ dimensionals to pop the numbers off the card.12 bday 2

12 bdy insideThe inside of the card had an image from the Bring on the Cake stamp set (retired), and the current set Something to Say (p.104).

There is not a lot of layers or embellishments to this card, but I like the simplicity and the pop of color.

Hope you can find a little inspiration to dig through all your stamp sets to create a great background collage on your next card creation. Thanks for looking and Happy Stampin’!

 

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

