Technique Tuesday -Inlaid Die Cuts

Today’s technique is all about the Big Shot and Framelits: Inlaid Die Cuts.                             I shared this technique with my stamp clubs back in November (during the blog sabbatical…hee hee).  It is a neat way to have lots of layers without the bulk or the raised pieces. Everything fits together, kind of like piecing a quilt.

Inlaid Die Cuts:  Create a one-layer inlaid design or collage by using die cut shapes.                Cut out each die cut shape from coordinating cardstock or designer series paper.

Create your design and lay out the die cut pieces, as you would like them to appear on the finished card or project. The shapes that will appear in the background will be cut first. Use the coordinating die to cut the first piece in the design base layer. Replace the die cut shape in the design base layer with the corresponding die cut piece (cut earlier) with small pieces of tape on the back. Position the next die onto the design layer and cut. * If pieces do not overlap on the design, you may cut more than one shape at the same time.

Replace the die cut with the corresponding shape, and attach with a small piece of tape on the back. Continue this process until the entire design has been cut and replaced.

Add the design base layer to the card to hide the layers seen from the backside of the design layer, and embellish as desired.

*Overlap layers to create a more intricate design.

Refer to Inlaid Die Cuts tutorial on Splitcoaststampers.com for video and images.

IMG_6545

I used the Feathers Framelits (p.49 OC) for this card. I cut out the feathers from some DSP and then cut them out of my Whisper White cardstock layer. I used the Tiny Triangles embossing folder (p.227) to emboss the White layer. Then I replaced the DSP feathers in the feather cut-out areas of the White layer. I used a Smoky Slate card base and a Crushed Curry cardstock layer. Finally, I added a little banner from the Amazing Birthday stamp set (p.48) in Lost Lagoon cardstock and ink.

IMG_6546

I CASED this card from HERE. I used the Secret Garden Framelits (retired) and the Circle Framelits (p.231). I cut the Circle out of the cardstock layer. I replaced the circle within the cardstock layer and then cut out the leaf stem.  Then  I embossed the circle cut-out with an inked Woodgrain Embossing Folder (p.227), and then replaced the circle within the cardstock layer, and a leaf stem that was cut out of Mossy Meadow cardstock was replaced within the circle.

It is important to do the cutting in this specific order to achieve this look. If you try and emboss the circle and then cut out the leaf stem, you will flatten out your embossing…so keep that in mind when trying this for yourself.

IMG_6547

This card was CASED from HERE. I love the word bubbles and the letters all overlapping but yet completely flat on the card. I used the Word Bubbles Framelits (p.230) and the Little Letters Thinlits (p.228) to achieve this look. I cut out the top bubble first, then replaced it and cut out the bubble on the left (overlapping the first bubble slightly), then I replaced that bubble and cut out the final bubble and replaced it.

Next, I layed out all my letters over the entire piece and cut them all at once. Finally, I replaced the cut-outs with the black letters.  WHA-LAH!!

IMG_6548

This last example uses the Expressions Thinlits Dies (retired), however the new Occasions Catalog has a very nice set of word Thinlits called Hello You Thinlits Dies (p.31 OC) which would work perfectly to get the same look.

I cut out the Deco Labels Collection (p.231) first and then put one inside of the other. Next, I placed my Merry Thinlit over the Deco Labels and cut that out of both at the same time. I then replaced the cut-out Merry with a Silver Glimmer paper Merry.

So, I hope you get the idea with this technique. It is a great way to make a fancy inlaid design without the bulk.  It makes you think….”How did she do that?!”  A little bit of stampin’ magic, I think!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Technique Tuesday -Inlaid Die Cuts

  1. Joni says:

    I’m so glad you’re back! I love your work. This is a new cool technique!

Leave a Reply

