Have you heard about – From the Herd?!

138834GThis new stamp set, From the Herd (p.15 OC), was just introduced in the new Spring Occasions Catalog from Stampin’ Up, and I just fell in love with it. I love the funny little animals and all the words that are in the set. There is a nice selection of words to use on the card front AND the inside of the card too. That is always nice when you have everything you need for a card in one stamp set.

from the herdI CASED this card from Lakesideinklings, and I did not vary much from that original card. I wanted to make a fun card for my father-in-law’s birthday (that I was late for), and this seemed like the perfect idea. I used a Smoky Slate card base and cut a frame from a smaller piece of Smoky Slate with the Square Framelits (p.231). I stamped the animals on a piece of Whisper White and colored them using a combination of Markers (p.211) and Blendabilities (p.212). I added a little banner with the sentiment and a piece of Black Baker’s Twine (p.206).

from the herd 2Don’t you just love this cute little herd ?! from the herd insideThis is the inside of the card using the words from the stamp set. Just a nice set, and I like the font or style of the words too.

in and out from the herdThis card is a sneak peak of a upcoming Technique Tuesday post- In and Out Embossing, but it also features a little peak at the From the Herd stamp set too. I cut a circle in the card to allow a little peak inside using the Circle Framelits (p.231).

inside in and out from the herdSurprise!!  There is a whole herd, not just a bird sending a Happy Birthday message. I wanted to highlight the bird and colored him in red, however I left the rest of the herd in black and white with just little touches of Smoky Slate marker. This made it fast and easy to color also, and it made the bird stand out.

inside2  in and out from the herdI can’t say enough good things about this stamp set. It is a new fresh idea and I love that! I like to add a little humor to my cards sometimes and this will be a good set to do that.

Don’t forget to stop by next Tuesday for the In and Out Technique featured on this card. It is another fast and easy technique to create a great background.

So, now that you have heard about the From the Herd stamp set, I hope you are inspired to come up with just the perfect card for someone you know too.

Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2015 Occasions Catalog, Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Have you heard about – From the Herd?!

  1. Ellen says:

    How did you manage to punch the circle in the perfect spot so the bird would show through in your “From the Herd” card?

    • StampinU says:

      It was a bit tricky, and maybe I got a little lucky too, but I added the layer with the image to the inside of the card. Then I slightly closed the card and tried to see about where the little bird would be in respect to the card front. I made a small pencil mark on the inside of the card front over the area where the bird would line up. Then I centered my framelit around that pencil mark and cut the card front. Then I added the white layer to the card front with just a little bit of tape, so that I could still remove it to cut, and drew a faint circle with a pencil from the inside of the card through the circle cut with the framelit to know where to cut the next circle with my framelit. I hope that makes some sense. It is kind of hard to explain, so hopefully you get the idea.
      Good Luck!!

  2. Judy Lawhon says:

    Love your Smoky Slate “From the Herd” card w/ the Hardwood background! I was wondering what color you used to color the big, horned animal. Please share!

    • StampinU says:

      I used my Sahara Sand marker (not a Blendability) for the main part of the body, the Smokey Slate marker for the face, Basic Gray for the snout, and Crumb Cake marker for the horns. I did not have the Smoky Slate Blendabilities, so I went with my regular markers instead.

  3. Pingback: “My Crafty Friends Monday” – 94

  4. Pat says:

    Your cards are so adorable!! I appreciate seeing a “Herd” card without having to color each animal. Thank you for sharing.

  5. pam says:

    How did you know where to put the hole so the bird show through?

    • StampinU says:

      Well, I actually stamped the image on the inside of the card first. Then I took my small Circle Framelit and layed it over the bird image with the cutting ridge face up. Then I closed the card front and then lightly pressed with my finder to make a indention on the card front where I wanted the circle cut. That made it easy to see where I should cut out the hole for the correct placement. Hope that helps!! Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

