Technique Tuesday -Reverse Masking Technique

Today’s Technique is certainly not a new one, but I wanted to do a simple technique that adds lots of interest to your cards. I explained this technique a while back on the post called More ONE Layer Cards, so you can see some more samples there.

Reverse Masking Technique: Create a background image by using a punch or die cut mask and ink. Punch out a piece of scrap paper, vellum, or acetate. Place this punched outline on cardstock and use like a stencil. Stamp an image and/or apply ink lightly with a sponge or sponge dauber to the cardstock within the punched out or masked area. *create an outline by applying the ink just around the stencil or punched out border.                                *use more than one ink color to create the look of sky and grass.

Reverse Masking ButterflyThis is a simple card to hightlight this simple technique. I used a Tangelo Twist card base and a Whisper White cardstock layer. I used a mask of scrap paper that was cut with an Oval Framelit (p.231).reverse mask

I inked up my new Something Lacy background stamp (p.43 OC) with Tangelo Twist ink. Then I placed my mask over the inked stamp, and then layed my piece of cardstock onto the masked stamp and lightly rubbed over the area to transfer the ink. This seemed to work the best for me to get a nice evenly inked image.

Next, I added the sentement in Black ink from the Forever Florals stamp set (p.171) and the Butterflies Thinlits (p.26 OC) cut from Black and Tangelo Twist cardstock pieces and layered onto the cards. I just shifted the top butterfly slightly up from the bottom butterfly so you could see both color at once.

Reverse Masking BloomsI CASED this card from Beth Rush HERE.  She has some nice step-by-step images to show how she created her card, and I followed her example very closely. I added a piece of Linen Thread (p.206) instead of the Thick Baker’s Twine (p.207) to make the card a little more stream-lined for mailing, but otherwise it is basically the same. I used the Hardwood background stamp (p.175) with Soft Suede ink on Naturals Ivory cardstock. The flowers are from the Bloom with Hope hostess stamp set (p.240). I just love that stamp set! It is my favorite hostess set in this current catalog. I used my Rich Razzleberry Blendabilities (p.212) to color in the flowers. The sentiment is from the Lots of Thanks stamp set (p.150).

Reverse Masking SilhouettesThis card was also CASED from a card I saw on Pinterest by Claudia Perry. I did not change much on this card either. I loved the simple elegance of the Vanilla and Black together, so I stuck with that. I used a Labels Collection Framelit (p.231) to cut the mask for this card. I sponged some Gold Metallic ink (p.211) on the inside of the masked area and added the image from The Open Sea stamp set (p.131) in Crumb Cake ink. Finally, I added some speckles from the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (p.165) in Gold Metallic ink.

Then, I removed the mask and stamped the sentiment from the Another Thank You stamp set (p.148) and the image from the Serene Silhouettes stamp set (p.130) in Black ink.

I added a piece of Gold Metallic Baker’s Twine (p.206) as the final embellishment.

Reverse Masking HelloThis card uses a Circle Framelit (p.231) to cut the mask. I used the Dictionary background stamp (p.175) within the mask to create the background image. Then I removed the mask and added the image from the Flowering Flourishes stamp set (p.118) in Cherry Cobbler ink. I added the “hello” from the Hello You Thinlits Dies (p.31) and some rhinestones for a little sparkle.

So, now you can see how this simple Reverse Masking Technique can easily add a lot of interest to your card without the additional layer.

Thanks for stopping by and see you soon!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2015 Occasions Catalog, Cards, Techniques, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

