Today’s Technique- Inked Embossing Folders

This is a technique that I did with my stamp clubs a few months ago, and it is also a technique that I shared awhile ago HERE.  SO, today I wanted to revisit this great technique and share a few more card samples.                                                                   Inked Embossing Folders: Create a tone on tone embossed image using embossing folders and ink.

Apply ink to the inside of an embossing folder with the ink pad, a sponge or a brayer. Make sure to apply ink until there is good coverage over the entire surface of the embossing folder. Place the cardstock in the folder and run it through the Big Shot to emboss.

*You may ink either side of the embossing folder to get two different effects.                  *Get a watercolored look by using a moist piece of watercolor paper in the inked folder and emboss.

inked emb. woodgrainThis card shows this technique really well. I used a Crumb Cake card base and a layer of Cajun Craze cardstock. I inked my Woodgrain Embossing Folder (p.227) with Cajun Craze ink and embossed the Cajun Craze cardstock to create this striking woodgrain background. It really makes the woodgrain stand out since the ink makes the recessed areas darker and raised areas are highlighted and ink-free. I just love it!

I used several items which were in the 2014 Holiday Catalog on this card, and are now retired, unfortunately. Color Me Autumn DSP, For All Things stamp set, and Autumn Wooden Elements

ink emb. lovely laceI shared this card on a previous post HERE, and you can check that out for all the details on the stamps and punches that I used. BUT, if you can see the background is another example of this great Inked Embossing Folders Technique. I inked the Lovely Lace Embossing Folder (p.227) with White Craft ink and embossed the Crumb Cake card base with the Big Shot. It made the background just “pop”, and created a lovely tone on tone appearance.

ink emb. beautifully baroqueThis is another card which I featured on a previous post HERE. I explained the Pinwheel Technique, seen on this card, on that post, so you can see how to do that there. I wanted to share this card again, because, as you can see, there is an Inked Embossing Folder Technique shown on this card too. I used the Beautifully Baroque Embossing Folder (p.227) inked with White Craft ink and Crisp Cantaloupe cardstock to create the Inked Embossed layer.

inked emb.tiny trianglesThis card is a slight variation of the technique. I used the Tiny Triangles Embossing Folder (p.227) and added three ink colors to the folder using a brayer: Melon Mambo, Marina Mist, and Tangelo Twist. Next, I sprayed a little water onto a piece of Watercolor Paper (p.192), and then embossed it in the inked folder. This creates a watercolored appearance on the embossed layer for another interesting look. I wanted that background layer to be the focal point of the card, so I just added a simple banner cut from Naturals Ivory cardstock (p.193) and stamped with an image from the Amazing Birthday stamp set (p.48). I added a piece of Tangelo Twist Stitched Satin Ribbon (p.207), some Candy Dots (p.208), and a Marina Mist stamped accent piece.

ink emb heartsThis card was inspired by a card that Carrie Cudney demonstrated at the 2015  Stampin’ Up Leadership meeting a couple weeks ago. She used sponge daubers to add ink to the Happy Heart Embossing Folder (p.9 Occasions Catalog) and embossed in the Big Shot. I loved her card and the soft color added to the embossed layer, so I thought I would try my own version. I used Blushing Bride and Perfect Plum inks on the folder. I also loved how she added a vellum piece over the embossed piece, so you could still see the pretty background though that layer. inked emb hearts2I embossed the Watercolor Thank You stamp (p.146) with Gold embossing powder on the vellum. Then I cut the frame from Whisper White cardstock and the vellum piece with the Deco Labels Collection Framelits (p.231). I added some hearts from the Something to Say stamp set (p.104), which I punched out with the coordinating heart punch from the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (p.222). I embellished the card with some Wisteria Wonder Seam Binding Ribbon (p.207) and a Gold Basic Metal Button (p.13 OC) tied with White Baker’s Twine (p.206). I wrinkled up the Seam Binding Ribbon by getting it wet and scrunching it up and drying it with my heat tool. This gave it a vintage look, that I really love.

So, that is the Inked Embossing Folders Technique!  I hope you can see how adding a little ink to your embossing folders can create a whole different look to your embossed    pieces.

Thanks for stopping by and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

