Wood You Be Mine?

I just love the new stamp set Wood You Be Mine? (p.7 Occasions Catalog). It is a quirky little set that is perfect for your manly man (if you have one of those!?). I happen to have an outdoorsman at my house, and he has cut his share of trees down this past year, so it seemed quite fitting for him.

IMG_6643

I made this card for him for Valentine’s Day and he seemed to really like it, so that was a good thing. I started with a Basic Gray card base and added some banners in Cherry Cobbler cardstock and Adventure Bound Designer Series Paper Stack (p.40 OC). Next, there is a layer of Black cardstock on a slight angle, and Cherry Cobbler and Whisper White layers. I stamped the image and colored it in with Blendabilities (p.212). I attached these layers to the card with some staples and the Handheld Stapler (p.21 OC). I added a bit of Stacked with Love Washi Tape (p.5 OC) and a Silver Metal Button (p.209) tied with Cherry Cobbler Baker’s Twine (p.206).  I found inspiration for this card from a card made by Inge Groot. It has a very similar appearance, but I just adjusted the color scheme a bit.

IMG_6645This card was also inspired by a card that I saw on Pinterest by Super Stamp Girl. Again, I used the basic idea, but just tweaked it slightly for a little variation. I used a Real Red card base and layer, and a Early Espresso Core’dinations (retired) cardstock layer which was embossed with the Woodgrain Embossing Folder (p.227). I also embossed the Real Red layer with the Woodgrain Embossing Folder. I stamped the images and used my Blendabilities (p.212) to color in. Then I cut out the images and added them to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals (p.204).

IMG_6646This last card was CASED from Melissa Stout. I did not really change anything, so it is truely a COPY and SHARED card. I used an Early Espresso card base and a layer from the Adventure Bound DSP (p.40 OC). I added a layer of Baked Brown Sugar and Whisper White for the images and used Stampin’ Dimensionals (p.204) to attach the Whisper White piece to the card. I stamped the image of the lumberjack and colored with Blendabilities (p.212), and then I cut him out and added it to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals.

I LOVE this stamp set!  It is a fun set with some nice manly images for those special guys in your life. Thanks for stopping by and see you again! Happy Stampin’!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

