Lovin’ the Sheltering Tree! Part One

I am a HUGE fan of the Lovely as a Tree stamp set (p.173). So, when I saw the new Sheltering Tree stamp set (p.22 OC), I couldn’t help but get excited about it too! I don’t know why, but something about a good tree stamp set, just makes my heart sing!sheltering tree setI love all the other images in this set also!  The tree is great, but the bike, the words, and the swoosh are all just fabulous too!

sheltering treeI CASED this card from Amy Whelan. I really liked how she used the swoosh image from the set to create the sky and ground in the background. I used Lost Lagoon, Pool Party, and Soft Sky ink for the sky. I stamped the image in each color twice without re-inking to get the lighter shade in each of the three colors. I did the same process for the ground in Pear Pizzazz and Wild Wasabi inks. Then I stamped the tree in Early Espresso ink and the words in Early Espresso ink onto a strip of Vellum cardstock.

*Be careful to let the ink on the vellum thoroughly dry before trying to work with it, and attach it to the card. It will smear if it is not totally dry first.

I used a Whisper White card base, a layer of Pool Party cardstock embossed with the Woodgrain Embossing Folder (p.227), and layers of Lost Lagoon, Pear Pizzazz, and Whisper White cardstock. I added stampin’ dimensionals under the Pear Pizzazz layer to give it some depth.

sheltering tree 3Amy’s card also inspired this creation. I really liked the trees in the background, on her card, that were sparkling with the Iridescent Ice Embossing Powder (p.213), so I decided to make that the focus of this card. It is so stricking in person, with the glimmering trees all in a row.

sheltering tree3bIt really makes this card have a frosty wintery feel, and is so simple to create. I just stamped the tree images in Versamark ink (p.210), added the Iridescent Ice Embossing Powder (p.213), and heated it just until set.

 

*You have to be very careful, with using this particular embossing powder, to not overheat it. There is a fine line of being embossed and set AND being overheated. You loose much of the glimmering effect when it is overheated, so have good lighting and watch carefully while heating it. You will see the transformation, but just make sure you are paying close attention.

sheltering tree3a

I punched out a little heart from Red Glimmer Paper (p.193) using the Owl Builder Punch (p.223) and stamped the words in Cherry Cobbler ink from the Sheltering Tree stamp set.

That is PART ONE of my Sheltering Tree samples. I will be posting more from this stamp set, so stay tuned for future posts. See you soon!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2015 Occasions Catalog, Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lovin’ the Sheltering Tree! Part One

  1. jennifer reynard says:

    Gorgeous cards, must try the layering of colours for the sky!!! 🙂

  2. Beth Deninger says:

    Beautiful cards, Miechelle! You are making me think I need to get this stamp set! 🙂

  3. StampinU says:

    Thank you for the nice comments!! It is so nice to hear.

Leave a Reply

