Lovin’ the Sheltering Tree! Part Two

I am back today with a couple more cards featuring the Sheltering Tree stamp set (p.22 OC). I have been thrilled to have another tree set that is so versatile and has such great images. The ideas are endless with this stamp set, and so here are a couple more.

sheltering tree irresistibly yours This card was CASED from Lynn Kolcun. She used only Smokey Slate and Whisper White on her card and it was gorgeous, but I wanted to add a little Basic Gray also, to add another shade of color.  I started with a Smokey Slate card base and layers of Basic Gray and Irresistably Yours Designer Series Paper (free with a $50 purchase during Sale-a-bration).

I really love this DSP! Why?… Because it has several designs of white on white glossy embossed images, that just shine through when you apply a little ink to the background. You can use any ink to highlight the embossed images, and that makes it so versatile to match any project or card that you are working on! I used a sponge with Smokey Slate ink on this card, and I love the soft look that this creates.

sheltering tree irresistably yours2Next, I added another smaller layer of Basic Gray and a layer of Whisper White with the images from the Sheltering Tree stamp set (p.22 OC) stamped in Basic Gray and Smokey Slate inks. Finally, I added a “thanks” from the Hello You Thinlits (p.31 OC). I really like the Silver Foil paper (p.193) when cut it out with the Hello You Thinlits. It makes a great addition to this card.  Thanks, Lynn, for the great inspiration!

sheltering tree3This card was CASED from HERE. Unfortunately, I do not know who the creator was, BUT it was an excellent idea to use the leaf and little extra leaves and star images in the stamp set to create a fabulous background effect. LOVE THAT!!

I started with a Strawberry Slush card base and layers of Crisp Cantaloupe and Whisper White. I stamped the large leaves stamp, from the Sheltering Tree stamp set, in the center in Crisp Cantaloupe ink and then added the little leaves and star image stamp, also from the Sheltering Tree stamp set, around that in Strawberry Slush, Baked Brown Sugar, and Crisp Cantaloupe inks.

I used a Baked Brown Sugar marker to ink up the “thinking of” from the words stamp in the Sheltering Tree stamp set and used my paper snips to cut a banner. Then I used the Hello You Thinlits (p.31 OC) to cut out the “you” from a piece of Strawberry Slush cardstock.

Such a simple card and a wonderful idea to use the stamps in this set in another way!        I appreciate all the inspiration that I find online, and I hope you can take my ideas and adjust, transform, or just copy to create your own little works of art too!  Thanks for stopping by again and see you next time. Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2015 Occasions Catalog, Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lovin’ the Sheltering Tree! Part Two

  1. lynn kolcun says:

    Thank you for the compliment of CASEing my card, Miechelle. I love your version too. Very pretty and the Basic Grey is a perfect addition

    Lynn

  2. jennifer reynard says:

    Wow, how classy with the gray and silver! Love it and how fun to use the tree top as a background!

Leave a Reply

