Technique Tuesday -Negative Space Washi Tape

Today’s technique is probably more of a tip or idea, rather than an actual technique, but it is a very versatile idea to make Washi Tape the focus of a card.  If you are like me, you love Washi Tape and have a nice assortment of it. It sits there so pretty on your craft table just waiting to be used….someday!  I finally had such a good stash of my own, and thought it was time to look for some good ways to use. I really do love how it is an easy embellishment to accent your project without a lot of bulk. The coordination of each set of Washi Tape makes it simple to use on a card too. So, after searching for some inspiration on using my Washi Tape, this is what I came up with:

Negative Space Washi Tape: Create simple backgrounds within punched out areas using Washi Tape.                                                                                                                           Use a framelit, punch, or die to cut out a shape. Apply Washi Tape to the card or layer behind the opening of the cut-out. Make sure to cover the entire area which will be seen through the cut-out shape. Attach the cut-out layer over the Washi Tape with stampin’ dimensionals or another type of adhesive.

washi tape heartI CASED this card from Angela Sargeant. I loved the idea of this simple card, and how the  washi tape provided a great design within the heart shape. I just applied the washi tape directly onto the Real Red card base, and this allowed the red color of the cardstock to show through the tape. I used a combination of Beach House, Retro Fresh, and Stacked with Love Washi Tape collections (p.190 & p.5 OC). I added a Whisper White cardstock layer cut with a Hearts Collection Framelit (p.231), and stamped the sentiment from the Simply Wonderful stamp set (Sale-a-bration item). Finally, I added a little flower punched out with the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (p.222) and a Pool Party Candy Dot (p.208).

washi tape featherI CASED this card from WhimsyArtCards. I loved it just as it was and did not change a thing….a complete copy. I used a Whisper White card base and layers of Lost Lagoon, Basic Gray, and Whisper White. I embossed the background layer with the Argyle Embossing Folder (p.227). I stamped the feather image from the Four Feathers stamp set (p.49 OC), and cut the feather out with the coordinating Feathers Framelits (p.49 OC). These can be purchased as a bundle for a 15% savings too!

I added the All is Calm Designer Washi Tape (from the Holiday Catalog) to the Whisper White layer, so it could be seen through the feather cut-out. Finally, I added a piece of Basic Gray Baker’s Twine (p.206) and a Silver Metal Button (p.209). I just love this card…thanks, WhimsyArtCards for the great idea!!

washi tape bitty butterflyThis is my last sample for today, and another CASED card. I saw this card by Jennifer Blomquist, and I just loved the card design. I changed the color combination from her card, but the rest is very similar. I used a Crisp Cantaloupe card base and Basic Black and Whisper White cardstock layers. I added some Sweet Sadie Washi Tape (p.190) to the White layer. Then I used the 2-1/2″ Circle Punch, the 2-3/8″ Scallop Circle Punch, the 2″ Circle Punch, and the Elegant Butterfly Punch (p.219 ,220, 221) to create the punched out element on the card. I attached that with stampin’ dimensionals over the washi tape. I colored some Pearls (p.209) with the darkest marker in the Smokey Slate Blendabilities collection (so sad they are no longer available) and added those to the inside of the butterfly. Finally, I stamped the words from the Simply Wonderful stamp set (Sale-a-bration item) in the lower corner of the card.

Those are just few Negative Space Washi Tape ideas. I have a few more to share so come back tomorrow for Part 2 of this great technique. Thanks for looking and see you soon.

 

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Technique Tuesday -Negative Space Washi Tape

  1. jumpyjess says:

    Such cute cards! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

