Negative Space Washi Tape- Part 2

I have a couple more Negative Space Washi Tape cards to share today.

washi tape starsThis card was inspired by a card by Veronica Z. I liked the star cut-outs and wanted to try my own version of that idea. I used a Coastal Cabana card base and a Smoky Slate cardstock layer. I cut out the stars with the Stars Collection Framelits (p.231) and the Confetti Stars Border Punch (p.45 OC). I added a smaller layer of Whisper White under the Smoky Slate layer and then attached the Retro Fresh and Epic Day Washi Tape (p.190) over the White layer. The Smoky Slate layer is attached with stampin’ dimensionals. Finally, I added some small stars in Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper (p.193) and punched out with the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (p.222), a Coastal Cabana Button from the Best Year Ever Accessory Pack (Sale-a-bration item) tied with some White Baker’s Twine (p.206), and a little banner stamped with “celebrate!” from the And Many More stamp set (p.20).

washi tape butterflyThis is one of my favorites for this Negative Space Washi Tape technique. I used a Basic Black card base, a Very Vanilla layer, and a layer of Typeset DSP (p.184). I attached the Typeset DSP to a piece of Very Vanilla cardstock to give it a little more thickness and stability, since this DSP is fairly thin. It needed to have that cardstock to keep it a little stiffer, so it would not sag on the card. I used the Butterflies Thinlits (p.26 OC) to cut out the butterfly shape. I attached the cut-out layer with stampin’ dimensionals to the card. washi tape assemblyI added the combination of Watercolor Wonder and Stacked with Love Designer Washi Tape  (p.190 & p.5 OC) to the Very Vanilla cardstock layer (similar to the way this looks).

washi tape butterfly2Then I added a Gold Foil Sheet (p.193) cut with the Hello You Thinlits (p.31 OC) across the opening of the butterfly. I really LOVE the Gold & Silver Foil Sheets when cut out with the Hello You Thinlits. It is such a great accent to any card!!

Well, there you go….I hope you try this great technique and use up some of your stash of Washi Tape. Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2015 Occasions Catalog, Cards, Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Negative Space Washi Tape- Part 2

  1. jumpyjess says:

    These are such lovely cards! Love the Thank you one! The gold accent is really pretty! 🙂

  2. shi says:

    Just came on your site an saw 2of your cards and very good ideas thank you

Leave a Reply

