Window Flip Card

IMG_6760Today I wanted to share a great card template that I saw on Dawn Olchefske’s Blog. She has a nice video tutorial to expain the details, but here are the basics:                      Window Flip Card                                                                                                                         Cut card base: 4-1/4″ x 5-7/16″                                                                                                   Cut the card layer: 3-1/2″ x 5-7/16″                                                                                                Cut flip card layer: 3″x 11″ and score at 5-1/2″                                                                              Punch or cut a circle out of the front of the flip card layer, Attach the card layer to the card base and stamp the image on the card layer, so that it will be seen through the opening in the flip card layer. Attach the back of the flip card layer to the back of the card base with a strong adhesive.

This is a simple card template with just a few layers and just a new twist to an ordinary card. I used a So Safron card base and a layer of Whisper White. I used a Basic Gray flip card layer with a piece of Confettic Celebration DSP (p.186) attached to the front of the flip card layer.  I added a piece of Color Me Autumn Designer Washi Tape (Clearance Rack) and a piece of White 1/4″ Cotton Ribbon (p.207) to the flip card layer. I used the Feathers Framelits (p.49 OC) to cut out a couple feathers from Smoky Slate and So Saffron cardstock. I embossed the Smoky Slate feather with the Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder (p.226).IMG_6761I used the new photopolymer stamp set, Lovely Amazing You (available online HERE) on the card layer. This stamp set is a nice compliment to the Feathers Framelits, and I love having a second stamp set, in addition to the Four Feathers stamp set (p.49 OC), to use them with. I stamped the image in Crushed Curry ink 3 times without re-inking and the words in Basic Gray ink.

IMG_6764This card has the same basic card layers with the card base of Crumb Cake cardstock, the card layer of Very Vanilla cardstock, and the flip card layer of Pink Pirouette. I embossed the flip card layer with the Spring Flowers Embossing Folder (p.19 OC). I added a strip of Soft Sky cardstock punched with the Scallop Edge Border Punch (p.222) and a piece of Very Vanilla 5/8″ Satin Ribbon (p.206). I used the Your Perfect Day stamp set (p.44 OC) for the images and words. I added a Large Oval Punched (p.221) piece to the card front, as well. I used my Stamp-a-ma-jig (p.235) to stamp the words and branches to get perfect placement.IMG_6765I stamped the images in Old Olive, Blushing Bride, and Soft Sky ink. The words are stamped in Baked Brown Sugar ink.

IMG_6762This card is a CASED version of Dawn’s card. I used an Elegant Eggplant card base, a Whisper White card layer, and a Wisteria Wonder flip card layer. I added a simple circle element punched with the 1-1/4″ Circle Punch and the 1″ Circle Punch (p.221).IMG_6763I stamped the Lotus Blossom stamp set image (Sale-a-bration item) with Wisteria Wonder, Rich Razzleberry, and Elegant Eggplant inks. The stem was stamped in Wild Wasabi and Mossy Meadow inks, and the words were stamped in Elegant Eggplant ink.

So, try the Window Flip Card template and see what great ideas you can come up with for this nice window card. I bet you will be surprised how simple it is and it’s always fun to try a new twist on an ordinary card!!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

