Happy Spring! Sketch Challenges- Fab Friday 61 & The Paper Players #239

Today I got a little inspiration from a couple of sketch challenges: Fab Friday and The Paper Players. I used the color combination from the Fab Friday 61 sketch and the use of die-cuts from The Paper Players #239 sketch.Fab Fri Logos-069pp239

I thought these were the perfect combinations to create this very Spring looking card.
die cut cardI used a Soft Sky card base and cut it 5-1/2″ x 11″ and scored at 5-1/2″. This made a square shaped card which was the perfect base for my die-cut Square Framelits (#130921, p.231). Next, I added the square frames and the Striped Scallop (#133734, p.228) cut piece within the inner frame. die cut card2

 

Then I used the Flower Frenzy Bigz L Die (#133728, p.232) to cut the flower and leaves in Pink Pirouette, So Saffron, Whisper White, and Pear Pizzazz. I used stampin’ dimensionals to add the leaves and flower layers to give those elements some dimension on the card.  Finally, I added a small circle of Gold Glimmer Paper (#133719, p.193) to the center of the flower for a little sparkle. IMG_6770

I love this soft color combination. It really feels like a touch of Spring, and makes me so happy to leave the Winter behind.

Since, this card is larger than the usual card size, I decided to make a matching envelope with a piece of Soft Sky DSP from the Sweater Weather Designer Series Paper (retired). I am on a mission to use up some of my old DSP, and using them for envelopes is a great way to accomplish that. The Envelope Punch Board (#133774, p.194) is a great tool to make that easy as pie!!  I love making matching envelopes and it also allows you to experiment with different card sizes too! No more limitations by the size of your envelope!!

Well, Happy Spring!  Try a great sketch challenge to get your creative ideas flowing. Thanks much, Fab Friday and The Paper Players, for inspiring ME today!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Spring! Sketch Challenges- Fab Friday 61 & The Paper Players #239

  1. Brenda Myers says:

    Very pretty card!! Love all the details and the flower!! Thank you for joining us at Fab Friday!! (Hi from a fellow Iowan!!)

  2. Heather H says:

    Wow, this came together perfectly – what a skillful combo of dies! Thanks so much for joining us at Fab Friday!

  3. Miechelle, this is such a pretty card! I love the Soft Sky and the scallop die you used to create your background! The pink flower is just gorgeous! Thank you for joining us at The Paper Players this week! XX

  4. Mindy Backes says:

    Very pretty and soft. The gold accent is just perfect! Thanks for playing at Fab Friday!

  5. Amanda Mertz says:

    Gorgeous card! The delicate die cuts in the background and the sweet layered flower are Fab! Thanks for sharing at Fab Friday!

Leave a Reply

