Happy 2! for Paityn

paityn's bday card1My niece turned 2 years old recently and this is her birthday card. It was so fun to create, and it has some nice elements to make it a little extra special too. I started with a Bermuda Bay card base and a layer of Birthday Basics DSP (retired). I am always trying to reduce my stash of retired DSP, so this paper seemed like a good choice for this card AND it helped me purge a little too. I used it to line the envelope also, so that used up even MORE paper! I used the Envelope Liners Framelits (p.231) to cut out the liner piece, and that really makes it easy to create a matching envelope for some extra “WOW”.

I used the Stars Framelits (p.231) to cut out the star element in Whisper White and Crisp Cantaloupe cardstock. I cut out the number 2 with my Bigz Alphabet Typeset Die (retired) and added a couple layers of Clear Embossing Powder (p.213) to give it a little extra glossy shine. I added these elements to the card with stampin’ dimensionals.

multi-layered element p.cardThe next element was the “happy” which was cut using the Hello You Thinlits (p.31 Occasions Catalog). I cut out several of these and layered them to create this Multi-Layered Element. I will be sharing this technique in more detail on my next edition of Technique Tuesday next week, so check back for that. I cut out the “happy” in several colors of cardstock: Bermuda Bay, Hello Honey, Crisp Cantaloupe, and Whisper White, and then layered them to achieve a rainbow effect from the side.

paityn's card 3I really love how this really creates an interesting element with some great dimension.

paityn's card insideThe inside of the card has another piece of the Birthday Bash DSP and a layer of Whisper White cardstock. I used the sentiment from the Remembering Your Birthday stamp set (p.59) and inked it with my Bermuda Bay and Crisp Cantaloupe markers to get the multiple colors.

paityn's bday card 2So, Happy Birthday, Paityn!!  It is always fun to make an extra special card for an extra special little girl.  Thanks for visiting today and don’t forget to come back next week for the rest of the details on this great Multi-Layered Elements technique.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

