Graduation Cards

Well, it is that time of year for graduations and I have a few cards to share today for that very purpose.

2015 grad

These cards are simple layered cards with lots of shapes and elements to create some fun and interest. I CASED these from Amy O’Neill HERE. I really love the layout and it can easily be for a girl or a boy. I did not change much from her original idea, but just a few small changes in stamp set and DSP.  I did these in a Garden Green, Whisper White, Basic Black, and Smoky Slate color scheme. I used the Bigz Typest Alphabet Dies (retired) for the numbers. I used several punches for the small pennant, star, and circles (p.221-223). I used some old Neutrals and Regals Backgrounds DSP (retired) and added some rhinestones for some extra “pop”. The “CONGRATS” stamp is from the Say it With Scallops stamp set (retired). I used lots of retired or discontinued items on these cards, but they could easily be modified to use current items, as well. I was just attempting to do some more stash busting with these cards, so maybe you have that same need too.

Shaker Cards 2This card is a fun Shaker Card!  I was inspired by THIS  card at Stacy’s Creative Corner. I recently got on a Shaker Card obsession and made a bunch for several different occasions. I will be sharing more of those in the coming days, so come back for more ideas.

I used a Garden Green card base and a Whisper White layer. I added another layer in Garden Green and embossed that piece with the Tiny Triangles Embossing Folder (p.227). I added another square piece of Whisper White to the card and then punched out stars with the Confetti Stars Border Punch (p.45 Occasions Catty) in Hello Honey and Garden Green cardstock. I also added some gold sequins from the Gold Sequin Trim (p.206), and added that to the collection of stars for the shaker elements.

Next, I cut out a frame piece from Whisper White cardstock using the Squares Framelits (p.231). I turned the frame over and added a square piece of Window Sheet to the opening in the frame. I attached the Window Sheet to the frame with a strip from the outside edge of the stampin’ dimensionals sheets. This not only adhered the Window Sheet to the frame piece, but it also creates the space for the shaker elements to move around inside the window.

I added a Hello Honey piece of Stitched Satin Ribbon (p.207) and the sentiment from the Teeny Tiny Wishes stamp set (p.18) to the frame.

grad cap

Finally, I added a punched out graduation cap. I started with a 1-1/4″circle punch and then punched out two 3/4″circles (p.221) from that larger circle to create the cap part. Then I punched out two pennants from the Pennant Builder Punch (p.223) and laid them end to end to draw a pattern for the top portion of the cap. I traced that pattern on another piece of Garden Green cardstock and cut it out with my scissors. I added a piece of Hello Honey Thick Baker’s Twine (SAB item) for the tassel and a Garden Green Candy Dot (p.208).

What a FUN card!! I have some extra special graduates who will be receiving these cards this year. I hope you can create some fun with your stamping supplies too. Happy Stampin’ and see you soon!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Graduation Cards

  1. Jeany says:

    What a brill idea, such a lovely card. Thanks again Michelle .love, Jeany UK XX

Leave a Reply

