Technique Tuesday- Multi-Layered Elements

As promised from last week, I am sharing a really cool technique today that features thick elements to give your cards and projects some great dimension. I saw some samples online that made me curious on how to create these great elements, so after some research, I discovered this is a VERY simple technique which makes a big impact on a card.

Multi-Layered Elements: Create a thick, layered element using punches, framelits, or thinlits.                                                                                                                                            Cut out several of the same elements and then stack and glue them together to create a thick, layered piece. You can use all the same colored cardstock OR you can use several different colors of cardstock to create a rainbow or ombre’ effect.                                   *Keep the thickness under ¼” and it should still be able to go through the mail.

Multi-Layered Elements1

This card started my interest in this technique. I CASED it from Stefanie Pletscher HERE, and I basically just copied it, because I absolutely LOVED the simplicity of her card.

Multi-layered Elements1a

It is just Whisper White layered on Whisper White cardstock using stampin’ dimensionals. I used the Crazy About You  stamp set and Hello You Thinlits Bundle (p.31 Occasions Catalog). I stamped the BIRTHDAY in Blackberry Bliss ink and added some rhinestones.

The Multi-Layered “happy” was cut out of the current 2014-2016 In-Color cardstocks: Mossy Meadow, Blackberry Bliss, Lost Lagoon, Tangelo Twist, Hello Honey, and Whisper White. I cut 2 from each color and used my 2-Way Glue Pen (p.204) to glue all 12 layers together. You can see a nice rainbow of color from the side of the card and it makes the “happy” POP!

Mulit-Layered Elements 2This card also has a Multi-Layered Element. I used the “thx” from the Circle Flip Card Thinlit die (p.228) and cut out several layers in Basic Black, Smoky Slate, Pool Party, Crushed Curry, and Real Red cardstock. I layered them in that order and glued them all together. I attached that to a Crushed Curry circle and Black starburst cut with the Circle Framelits and the Starburst Framelits (p.231).

I used a Real Red card base, a Black layer, and a layer of Flashback DSP (p.186). I cut some banners from the same Flashback DSP and stamped a Pool Party banner with the Crazy About You stamp set (p.31 OC), and tucked them under the Multi-Layered Element.

Multi-layered HelloThis card was CASED from HERE. I loved the gold touches on this card and how well it goes with the gold metallic details in the Gold Soiree DSP (p.184). I used the Crazy About You stamp set and Hello You Thinlits Bundle(p.31 OC) again on this card for the stamping and the Multi-Layered Element.

ML hello-2I cut out several layers in Whisper White cardstock and the top layer from the Gold Foil sheets (p. 193). I added some flowers from the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (p.222), some pearls, and a piece of Gold Metallic Baker’s Twine (p.206).

I LOVE this technique, and really, the ideas are endless for these Multi-Layered Elements. You don’t have to limit yourself to just words. You can use punched out shapes too, to create some wonderful dimensional elements.

Come back tomorrow for Part 2 of this technique and see a few more ideas. See you soon and Happy Stampin’!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

