Multi-Layered Elements- Part 2

feathers MLI wanted to share a couple more cards using the technique from yesterday,               Multi-Layered Elements.  This card was CASED from HERE. I wanted to use a shape for my Multi-Layered Element, and the Feathers Framelits (p.49 Occasions Catalog) seemed like the perfect choice. These Feather Framelits are soon to be retired, and will be greatly missed. I think they are so versatile and great for masculine cards.

feather ML2

I used a Elegant Eggplant card base and layers of Sahara Sand, Wisteria Wonder, and Whisper White cardstock. I used the coordinating stamp set Four Feathers (p.49 OC), which is also retiring after June 2nd. I cut several layers from Sahara Sand cardstock with the Feathers Framelits and then stamped the top layer with a “thanks” from the Another Thank You stamp set (p.148). I added some Candy Dots (p.208) for a few more accents on this card and called it good. Clean and Simple!

watercolor MLThis card was CASED from Aly Stamps. It combines a Watercolored background with the Multi-Layered Elements. I used a Lost Lagoon card base and a layer of watercolor paper.

I used my aquapainter and Lost Lagoon, Pistachio Pudding, and Coastal Cabana re-inkers to apply the watercolored background. After allowing the watercolored background to dry (you can use a heat tool, if you are impatient, like me!), then cut out the” thanks” using the Hello You Thinlits (p.31 OC). **Save all the small pieces from the centers of the letters to add back in later.

Next, I cut out 5 more layers of the “thanks” from more watercolor paper, and then stacked and glued them all together. I glued the cut out from the watercolor piece onto the top of the stacked layer.

I used double stick tape to adhere the watercolored piece to the card base and made sure to apply some pieces of tape over the “thanks” opening. This made it easy to attach the layered piece back into the cut out area AND all the extra small pieces from the centers of the letters. Once all those are replaced, it appears as though the “thanks” is just popping off the card!

I added some splotches from the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (p.165) and a few Gold Sequins (p.206) for a little extra sparkle.

What a great look!! Thanks, Aly, for the inspiration.                                                           Hope you are ready to try this great technique for yourself. Look at your punches, framelits, and thinlits in a new way and see what you can create!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Multi-Layered Elements- Part 2

  1. Pingback: Watercolor Wash Technique -Part 2 | StampinU

Leave a Reply

